A Proposition

Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 9:43 am 13 comments

Hello everyone- I wanted to let everyone know that I will still update this blog at least once a week. The reason? Have you ever read about someone getting better from a brain injury? I want to educate people as much as I can because I’m just like you- learning more about this day after day. So, I plan on writing about therapy and how I’m feeling and doing and in the end, I’ll be riding and hanging out with my friends all on my own, no visits or tandems. I am months away, is what they say. It’s not an easy journey at all. I will have bad days, I will have great days. With your help, as many people as possible will be learning about this horrible injury. Lastly, I want to let you know about a goal I have: when I can, I will ride across the country and on route, do talks about brain injury to hospitals and rehab centers. Hopefully with friends, but already my mom said she’ll do it with me. What do you think?

Entry filed under: update.

Doug writes to all! Doug’s first real post

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Bronstein  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 9:51 am

    YO MAN YOU KNOW IM DOWN FOR IT!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah Exley  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 12:34 pm

    wow… that sounds amazing. i would love to.

    Reply
  • 3. Lola  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    That is a fantastic plan. It works on so many different levels. When the time comes, let everyone know your route. I, and doubtless many others, have friends and relatives all over the country who would be thrilled to host you and your traveling companions during your journey.

    Reply
  • 4. Shannon Kurtas  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    count the boys and girls (errr….girl) of drexel cycling in!

    Reply
  • 5. David Dannenberg  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    Hi guys,

    Just back from extended (~7500 miles) road trip. Great to talk with Doug today. You really sound good. Can’t wait to see you. I mentioned this to Jen and Dan before we left and it is a resource that could be useful to you when the time comes.

    Every Saturday from 10-1:00 on every weekend when MLK Drive (the West River Drive) is closed, tandem riders gather with bikes to take blind, disabled, and the curious out riding. They meet at the boat house where the handicapped row, just upstream of the Sweetbriare cut-off. A season pass is only $35. It is a good way to try a tandem for people who haven’t yet and a good way for people to get on a bike who cannot cycle (yet) on their own.

    If you haven’t made it down yet–or aren’t allowed to yet–I encourage you to do so when the time comes. It would be my pleasure to get you a season pass if it looks like something that would be fun for you.

    Dave

    Reply
  • 6. Mary Pat  |  Thursday, July 27, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    Hey Doug,
    I just wanted to let you know how astounded I am in how far you have come already. You are a real inspiration. I can’t wait to continue to read more about your progress and attaining your awesome goal.
    Good Luck,
    Mary Pat

    Reply
  • 7. Andy Evensen  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 7:23 am

    we were already planing on riding accross the country, now we just have a good reason. you know i’m down for that.

    Reply
  • 8. Karen Ofchinick (Beth's mom)  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 8:43 am

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family daily. You are an inspiration. A true fighter. I look forward to your ride across country and please post an address where we can donate to help with the expense of your journey and mission. I am just amazed at your recovery (although we all knew you could do it) from the day of the prayer service in the hospital until now, God has a special path for you and you are up for the challenge. Stay strong, stay positive, just stay yourself.

    Reply
  • 9. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 9:09 am

    It’s great to hear directly from you, Doug! Your idea sounds truely fantastic. Let us know what we can do to support you when the time is right. Keep up all the good stuff you are doing!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Kristine Graham  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 10:04 am

    GOD BLESS MOMS!!!!!!Glad to read that you’re doing so well. Keep up; the healing, the great attitude and the wonderful supportive network of friends. I’ll keep reading your posts to see when you’ll be pedaling in my neck of the woods, team 47 country (even though Michigan is probably not on anyone’s trip tic when it comes to crossing the country from coast to coast). You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply
  • 11. Andy Evensen  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 11:32 am

    we are going to stink so bad from riding when we show up to people’s houses

    Reply
  • 12. Mary Obel  |  Friday, July 28, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    Greetings in the Lord. Although I haven’t met you personally yet, reading this website has introduced me to a remarkable young man and I am thrilled to hear of your excursion across the country. I hope you got to watch the movie(Emmanuel’s Gift) about Emmanuel who rode across Ghana and I know he would be an encouragement to you. It is so wonderful how you have taken a tragedy and turned it into something good for all. I hope my 13 year old son Jack can meet you someday. Continued prayers for recovery and peace.
    Mary Obel, Secretary at Saint Anne’s Episcopal Church

    Reply
  • 13. Aislin  |  Saturday, July 29, 2006 at 1:35 am

    ive never met anyone like you. you continually amaze, and more so, inspire me. never change. lots of love
    -aislin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

