A good wednesday~

Wednesday, August 2, 2006 at 6:57 pm 7 comments

So today was a good day, full of therapy and just hanging out. I wanted to give you a better idea of what therapy is and what types I have so that you get a good idea of what I’m going through.

So today first I had occupational therapy. Occupational therapy is with my therapist named Gary. Basically, I do normal everyday things in occupational therapy. When I was in-patient at moss I went foodshopping with my occupational therapist Brenda. She also made sure I was eating and taking showers fine. So you get the idea. Today in occupational Gary checked my vision and had me construct a tub seat just so he could see that I follow directions fine. The tub seat was just what I had to make. He checked to see if my reading difficulties are due to eye problems, which it isnt. It should get better, as it has.

Then, I had physical therapy with Theresa and we did some testing to see how I’m doing with walking up steps and down the hall. I even had to skip in the test! She also had me do my usual twenty minutes on the treadmill. Sometimes she gives a heat pack for me to put on my back. This is because my neck and back is very tight, muscle-wise. But, just like all else, it’s getting better. Also, Theresa is helping improve my balance. This is crucial if I am ever going to get into sports. She knows its my goal.

Lastly, I had speech therapy today. In speech therapy with Jenn, I do things like talk, read, and do math. All three things are what they focus on often for most patients. She knows I want to get back to school, which is important. Today, she told me what she’ll focus on for me, and after that we worked on some word-finding. That is one thing that has changed. Now, i’ll forget a word and be in conversation and not know the word I want to use. So, I was doing synonyms of other words on a sheet today, which I did fine on. However, it wasn’t every word I think about using. You know?

So that’s my therapies. After therapy I had a milkshake and came home. Then, I read up on a pda-phone ( palm treo 650 ) for me to get. It would help me alot, I think. Any ideas? if so, tell me! I’m all about technology, as I’ve always been. Also, I just wanted to remind you about the Beef and Beer fundraiser dinner that we’re having. It’s coming up! check out more info on it! on the right of the home page! Well, see you soon!

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Doug’s first real post A trip to the races~

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsten  |  Thursday, August 3, 2006 at 12:21 am

    I have to say… it was quite interesting to hear about your therapies. It makes me feel better and that you’re in the right hands. 🙂

    Personally, I love my Palm. I don’t have a spiffy pda phone tho, I just have the pda part. Like I was telling you earlier this week – I have a really bad memory and my palm is my entire brain during the school year. If I didn’t have it (or my computer synced to it and my calendar) then I wouldn’t remember a damn thing! It could be a good idea for you to organize your thoughts in that way. What was your reasoning?

    -Kirsten

    Reply
  • 2. Andy Evensen  |  Thursday, August 3, 2006 at 7:26 am

    i’ll buy you a note pad and a pen

    Reply
  • 3. dougtales  |  Thursday, August 3, 2006 at 7:43 am

    its just that my memory isn’t great, short term. i’ll tell someone something and then forget I told them. know what I mean? so are you guys going to the beef and beer? I hope so!

    Reply
  • 4. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Thursday, August 3, 2006 at 4:23 pm

    Doug – it is great to hear directly from you! Sounds like the therapy people are keeping you busy – awesome. That will help you progress… plus with your determination, your progress will be fantastic! Good luck with picking out your pda – not something I can help you with! Gadgets and me are not a good match. Take care.

    Reply
  • 5. Ben Rockstroh  |  Friday, August 4, 2006 at 8:28 am

    Doug- Glad to hear you like your therapists, that I believe is one of the most important parts of getting through therapy. If you ever get discouraged, keep looking at the small steps, believe me they add up. As for a pda/smartphone, if you haven’t already try typing in the name of the phone and reviews (palm trio 600p reviews) into google. Pick the cnet review if there is one, they seem to be helpfull. Also remember that the phone you get will need to update on occasions and will either neet a wireless network (dragonfly- so it would need a wifi card) or it will need the data plan for what ever service you have, (sadly I’ve been told you can not load the updates via bluetooth from your laptop). Good luck, and I’ll be there + atleast 1 for the Beef and Beer.

    Reply
  • 6. Andy Evensen  |  Friday, August 4, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    beef and beer, hell yeah i’ll be there. i dont know if i’m bring anyone yet. i might have to just show up stag

    Reply
  • 7. andy  |  Saturday, August 5, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    whats your address?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

