A new puppy and a great day

Thursday, August 10, 2006 at 10:57 pm 3 comments

So today was a very enlightening day for me. Not only is it less than a week till I get my arm gets checked out again, but I learned alot today too.

So you know who my new inspiration is? Saul Raisin! So the story about him is: On april 5th or so, he crashed in a cycling race and as a result had a brain injury and went into a coma. Just like me! Basically, he was pro, on the Credit Agricole team. He probably would have made it to the tour. Anyway, my friend Steve sent me links to his blog, and I found myself inspired by his story. His is just like mine! I don’t know how badly he damaged his brain, but I know his recovery is similar. At any rate I’ve become really into reading about his progress. As you can guess, because he was in his accident two months before me, he kinda is 2 months ahead of me in his recovery. I like seeing where I could be, compared to his situation. I understand I may be wrong in doing so, but I like the hope in it. Just days ago, Saul went on his first bike ride on the road. Prior to that, he even got back onto the rollers! I sooo want to do that. I already write better than him!

In other news, this past weekend the family got a new puppy! And… guess the name! Her name is Patience. This is so that I can always hear the word, I assume. She’s just 3 months old, and is a cocker spaniel. She’s a good dog, loves to run around. She also loves to nibble on things, like noses ( she got my mom’s. ) or shoelaces. All in all, she’s learning well, and is already able to run up the stairs to the second floor. We have to get more gates for walkways so she can’t get into things. I am taking her for walks every day, and making sure she’s not doing bad things. I still have time to be online, though~

So, perhaps as of tuesday, I will be told that my arm can handle larger loads. If so, I can start riding on a trainer. I really really look forward to it. Also, i wouldn’t mind not having to wear a splint. The splint just makes it harder to do things, like type. I sometimes take it off to type. Also, my movement with my left arm gets better every day. I like that I can now make a fist. Not because I want to punch anything, just it was a goal. My next one is to make it through rehab with therapists saying ” you’re improving” every time I see them. I like it.

Well, I’m going to get going. Thanks for reading!

~Doug

Mom walks Patience with patience that she'll continue. Patience's smiling face

Entry filed under: update.

A trip to the races~ I rode on a trainer today!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy Evensen  |  Friday, August 11, 2006 at 9:01 am

    i can’t wait to see you on a trainer.

    and dude, a dog! nice! puppies are so much fun.

    Reply
  • 2. Steve Bronstein  |  Friday, August 11, 2006 at 9:23 am

    I honeslty think you should have named the puppy STEVE II, but either way its a sweet pup.

    Reply
  • 3. caitlin  |  Sunday, September 3, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    aww sooo cute. i must come visit her..and you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

