My beef and beer speech

Sunday, August 20, 2006 at 8:17 am 2 comments

Hello everyone! First and foremost, I want to thank you so much for coming and taking time out of your busy lives to support me. As well, and especially, I thank my older brother, Brandon and Janice and her mom, who put a lot of effort into this. I also want to thank wisshickon fire company for allowing this event to take place here. I didn’t come up with the idea to have this dinner, but anyone can imagine that it’s very important to me. So thank you so so much for making a dream come true. Seeing bands play in the same room as me tonight is the first time for it since my accident. And, I’ve found that I have an even larger love of music now, versus before. I hope to be playing guitar and writing songs even better than I used to! So, thanks for giving me an excuse to see live music!

Basically, I’ve got a large task ahead of me and you all know it. By coming here tonight, you’ve become my large support group. For that, I will never be able to forget. I want you all to be there when I do my first riding on a bike on the road. Okay? On Dougtales, I try to write positively because after all, everyone else is being positive to me! How can I not look to the future? At the end of all this, I’ll be filled with such pride because I got over this fine, and came so close to death. I joke around about everyone calling me coma boy. Hey, I was in a coma!!! To some of you who visited HUP, that’s probably a sore subject, but I look on it with shock and a desire to joke about it now. Now, I’m eating, drinking, learning new things, riding on the trainer, listening to music, and watching movies just like I would have been. But, I still have quite a while of recovery. I want you all to know that so that you see why this entire thing is taking place. I always give my parents crap about it, but rehab is so long and winded. It’s annoying! Now that I can complain, I do. So I’ll tell ya, this talking is annoying! Why am I doing it, again? Just kidding. I’ll begin to wrap this up, for your sake. I wasn’t asked to make a speech. I basically forced it upon you all! I am so glad I am able to talk in front of you now. It’s one more accomplishment under my belt. As if being in a coma wasn’t enough! Once again, thank you so much for everything. Please, if you haven’t come and talked to me yet, please do. I’d love to talk to you. Well, have a great time tonight, and thank you again.

Entry filed under: update.

Oh joy! Friday!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. judy  |  Sunday, August 20, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    hey,

    it sounds like it was an amazing party. and congrats once again on making it this far!

    judy

    Reply
  • 2. lucy bruno  |  Tuesday, August 22, 2006 at 12:41 am

    Doug I am so glad you are doing better – I’ve been
    watching your progress and I am impressed.
    We were with you at HUP in ICU.
    Happy days are upon us…

    Say hello to mom and dad.
    chris is doing good – no kemo so far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

