Thoughts

Thursday, August 31, 2006 at 10:29 am 10 comments

So Hey All!

How are you doing today? I’m doing fine. Heck, I’m doing very good. As it is usually, I’m finding more and more to be happy about. But at the same time, you know what that does to this blog? Basically I try now to be as honest as I can because I know that many of you don’t know what the future has in store for me, and that many of you don’t see me on a daily basis. So if I’m frustrated or I’m sad, I try to write about it on here because heck, I think all of you can see that I love focusing on the good things and what is in the future. It’s all good. It’s so rare that I want to just say, “hey, i’m doing really crappy right now.”. You see what I mean? I’ll keep writing happy posts if I don’t stop and think, ‘wait a minute, these people don’t see me on a daily basis! it’s not all happiness! i get sad sometimes, too’ Alas, I’ll just write what comes to mind and if it’s a good thing or a bad thing, it won’t matter. Basically, I could have updated sooner, but my idea of having a mix of happy/sad posts just didn’t work for the better. I’ve never once had so many people reading stuff that I wrote. Heck, I can even tell you on average how many that is! It is approximately 110 or 120. Sometimes it goes down to 75, sometimes up to 150 or more! It has become my new hobby to see how many people check this site, and at what time they do it. It varies. But I don’t need to tell you that! You might be checking this at 11:30 every night, or at 3 in the morning! I can’t check this site then… I’ll just guess you check it.

So back to what I was getting at, I’ll just mention one more thing that I really appreciate yet think is funny… So back when Joe updated this site religiously, he always tried to do it smart. I really think that is a great thing. How was it smart? I’ll tell ya. In nearly every post, he wrote, “but remember, Doug still won’t be normal and able to respond to you the same way he used to for a while from now. He needs support and your patience.” That is not a quote, just a general idea of what he said. If you read the earlier posts, you’ll remember that. I read those posts on here and I kinda get a smile on my face. He was doing the right thing by writing it, that’s for sure. He really was paying attention to what doctors told him, and it has paid off. I’m so glad I can prove them wrong. Now, I never personally write in this blog anything of the sort. I don’t say, ‘but hey, remember, i’m not perfect yet. give me time’! I actually say ‘throw all you can at me! try your best to get me flustered!’ and this is because I am feeling so good! Thank you, everyone, for following Joe’s orders. Now, forget those damn orders! hahaha. I know my therapists are thinking, ‘ oh gosh, what’s going on in that head of his!?’. I’m glad I’m able to read all that Joe wrote, and just think that it was only useful to others for as long as it was. It isn’t as ‘long’ of a time of recovery as he implied. Heck, keep thinking that it’ll be months from now till I’m doing well, if you want! I’m just going to have to prove you wrong, like, now! : )

okay and lastly I want to let you all know about one or two more things. First, I’m allowed to take the train! So, that means that if you’re located in the city and want to hang out with me, please say something to me and I’m sure we’ll do it! I’m excited about the idea. Okay…. and lastly I’ll let you all in on something that I’m not even sure my therapists want to have everyone know just yet… Pretty soon, I’ll be allowed to get back on the bike! I am assuming that when we have the team/family meeting about my progress in two weeks, they’re going to clear me for it. Now, as Gary has explained, it will probably be the idea to have me riding with others in a group, so that my ‘cognitive ability’ isn’t as much of an issue. But, it’s coming up!!! Oh yeah! This will mean that ONE of my two goals will be met: riding again, and getting back to school. The train is a small ‘getting back to school’ accomplishment, the riding will be a big one. Once again, I’m just letting you all know that the first time I am back on the bike, I want everyone to be there. It will be just so great.

Okay, I’ll let you all get back to your lives. For some of you drexel students, that means getting back to “working” at your co-op job. Facebook sound good to you? Hahaha. Alright, and lastly I want to make a comment out to all of you: Post a comment! I check this site so often just so that I can see if anyone has responded to my posts, and very often it is rare that anyone does. As joe said, I need your support! just kidding, but I could surely use your words of encouragement and happiness. : ) . see you soon! and if you are bored, let me know and we’ll have to hang out, at my house or in the city. It’s available, now!

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Friday! we love taking breaks

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Bronstein  |  Thursday, August 31, 2006 at 10:38 am

    DOUG YOU MAKE IT SOUND LIKE FACEBOOKING AT WORK IS A BAD THING. AND I “WORK” HARD TOO!!!
    CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU ON THE ROAD AGAIN BUD!

    Reply
  • 2. Becky Van Derzee  |  Thursday, August 31, 2006 at 10:51 am

    Hey Darlin
    Just wanted to say hi, and its obvious I was thinking about you since I decided to check your site! Let me know whenever you wanna come into the city and hang out. I’m not sure what your daily schedule is like, but if you have an afternoon and evening off we’d all love it if you could hang out with us!!! Love you lots, Becky

    Reply
  • 3. Karen Prior  |  Friday, September 1, 2006 at 12:00 am

    Hey Doug!! I do read the posts, i just never know what to say..so i’ll just leave you with this…

    you’ll get thru this, you’re so strong 😀

    Just look at me and that cow incident haha…have a fantastic day!!! ill talk to you later..if you ever get bored..i have no classes on fridays, so feel free to call!!!

    love always,
    Pumpy

    Reply
  • 4. Liz, Dennis, Jenna, Kenny and Grandma Ann,  |  Friday, September 1, 2006 at 10:47 am

    Doug,

    You are an amazing fella! We continue to view your posts and are in awe of your accomplishments!

    Our best to you and your family,

    The Bjellquists

    Reply
  • 5. Connie Fiorentino  |  Friday, September 1, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    Doug,
    It was great seeing you at the Beef and Beer, you looked great. Last weekend Rick and I were down Cape May in an “antique” store and saw a full chain tunic just like the bracelets you were making. It was for sale for $250.00. Not sure what one would do with a full chain tunic but just wanted you to know there may be a financial future in your “hobby” ;).

    Reply
  • 6. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Saturday, September 2, 2006 at 10:57 am

    Had a very nice time at the Beef and Beer. It was great to see you! Since I had not been able to visit at all, seeing you there was awesome. It was neat seeing so many students (or former students) and a good crowd. Keep up all the hard work you are doing and I am sure you will keep amazing everyone around you.

    Reply
  • 7. Jim Lewis  |  Saturday, September 2, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    Doug, hope you’re doing great, enjoyed the beef and beer, and glad you made our strenuous selection as a friend to one of my children, similar to passing through a gauntlet of armed men.

    Here’s a link to my photobucket site, and I’m sure you and others will find the photos of Derek sleeping, while looking like a dork, entertaining.

    http://s28.photobucket.com/albums/c236/valleyautomotive/

    Reply
  • 8. judy  |  Saturday, September 2, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    we all know you’ll be out there in a yellow jersey on le tour some day, and probably wearing chain mail for good measure 😛

    congrats on everything you have accomplished so far, and good luck with all your adventures

    Reply
  • 9. caitlin  |  Sunday, September 3, 2006 at 1:38 pm

    Hey doug!
    omg you would not believe..or you would because you know me well. i lost the sunglasses that you returned to me at college! miss you tons and will try my best to see you now that my car is back but i have a very busy schedule. i am very happy to see that your good and positive. many of my friends like the chain braclet and they all want one to, but don’t worry they dont expect it to come soon.

    Reply
  • 10. Kris Roudebush  |  Friday, September 8, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    It was wonderful to visit with you and catch up. Both of us has changed so much, but you are still the cool kid that attempted to teach me how to aggresive skate and the one who would take walks in the woods with me. Hope all is well.
    Kris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

