we love taking breaks

Sunday, September 3, 2006 at 10:42 pm 10 comments

Hey all-

So this blog will for once in a blue moon, be shorter. I’ve had really long blogs lately and I am sorry. I mean, maybe you like it, maybe you just wish I wrote a few words, I don’t know! I’m always trying to be seeing a caring of others’ desires and needs.

So I very often get to realize what my favorite thing about this injury is! Ready for it? I love it how I speak to my friends online and they can tell me all about the exciting things in their life, and they tell me things that I most likely would have been a part of if I hadn’t been in this accident. They don’t tell me I’d have been there, but I know I woulda. It’s so frustrating to be taking this break from my normal life right now. I would love to be exhausted from working all day, or from doing something else that I really don’t want to do. People around me sometimes complain about things they have to do, in front of me, and I hate complaining. If I could, i’d be in their position any day of the week. I know that I’ll get there, yadda yadda. But still, frustration is a big part of this process, one that won’t just go away with time. The more recovered I feel, the more I’ll be frustrated when I can’t do things I would normally do. I find that funny. Hopefully with recovery and gaining skills back, the therapists and doctors will be on top of it and ready to let me do the old things.

On another note, my arm is feeling alot better now too. Even when I have weight on it that I shouldn’t have, (>20 lbs) it doesn’t hurt like it used to! Never before did I get a chance to feel so much healing, and understanding of how it all happens. I’d never have asked to feel it though. It’s a good thing I have such a tolerance of pain. Some other patients in the brain injury ward of Moss Rehab relied on painkillers to get through their days. I never had to. Heck, the headache I had today for a few hours was the first time at all that I considered taking an advil! I didn’t though, and with time, I don’t think I will at all. I have read that after a brain injury, reliance on painkillers is a bad thing. Now, I’d never rely on them, but it feels good to be aware of what not to do.

So, thanks for reading, and I hope to talk to you soon!
-Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Thoughts a great thursday to tell about~

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bethany Ofchinick  |  Monday, September 4, 2006 at 11:27 am

    Hey Doug! I’m so glad that you are doing better! I have had nothing but strange dreams since the accident and your mom knows about the one. I just had a dream about you again last night and had to finally write you. I have been so busy that sleep has been all that I can do. When you get some time we need to get together again. I miss you and love you so much!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  Monday, September 4, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Doug,

    So glad you are doing well. Awesome! I was the one who dropped off the cycling tapes to your mom at U of P. Been sending emails. No response. I was wondering how things were going. Came across this site by accident. Really good new though. I hope the tapes were helpful. I would like to arrange a time to pick them up. Your mom has my contact info. Look forward to meeting you a second time. Tony

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly Beal  |  Monday, September 4, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    Hey Doug!
    This is going to sound kind of crazy.. but you don’t actually know me. I’m a respiratory therapist (still in school, though) and this summer I was at HUP for a clinical rotation. I was in your unit and i talked to your parents a little and was absolutely amazed by your story. Anyway.. all summer i wondered how things ended up for you and i remembered seeing a sign in the units waiting room that said Dougtales on it… so i took a study break and typed it in. Long story short.. I came across this web page and your blogs and I just want to say that Im so happy things have worked out for you! I said alot of prayers for you.. along with many others Im sure.. and its just nice to know that every now and then prayers do get answered! Good luck!

    Reply
  • 4. DJ Gialanella  |  Wednesday, September 6, 2006 at 8:15 am

    Hey man that’s awesome that you can take the train down to school. Let me know if you wanna come down and see my new apartment and then we can go for that cheese steak I owe you. Give me a call.

    Reply
  • 5. Cassie  |  Wednesday, September 6, 2006 at 2:06 pm

    hey doug…just read your info and i had no idea all this was going on. i’m glad to read that you’re doing better though…and you’re right people (including myself sometimes) complain way too much. keep up the healing!
    ~Cass

    Reply
  • 6. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Wednesday, September 6, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    Hi, Doug. Glad to hear an update about you from you. Sounds like you are still doing well and making stides. Woohoo!

    Your blurb about others complaining about everyday stuff while you are recovering and chomping at the bit (so to speak) to be doing those same things reminded me a little of my situation in middle and high school. I lost my dad when I was 9. It always bugged me when other kids would complain about how awful their parents were. (just from everyday stuff) It used to really get to me, and once in a while I had to say something. Most of the time I could let it go.

    You have a great attitude – keep things positive. Take care.

    Reply
  • 7. dougtales  |  Wednesday, September 6, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    Okay, a question to anyone reading this: The comment above says “keep things positive.” Would you like me to complain about my little things on here, or just keep telling all about my successes? There are more successes than complaints. The complaints are more for your benefit than mine. I wondered whether others think it’s a good thing to think more about something that’s bothering me and write about it, or just to let it pass… You know? I have the strength to get over it all, and I surely have the ability to choose what I write about. On other blogs (ones which I know everyone on!) I might be less careful of what I write… And what can I say? I care about you all and I want you all to have a rounded view of whats going on. I appreciate how nobody’s given me advice like “just give it time.” I’ve heard that way too much! Thanks again, all. And thanks for commenting!

    Reply
  • 8. Mary Obel  |  Wednesday, September 6, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    Hi – just wanted to pass on some information I learned from one of my dearest friends whose only daughter(age 19) just got out of a drug rehab program. As you might imagine she is struggling with many feeling – guilt, anxiety, gratefulness etc… She went to a scientific lecture about gratitude presented for parents of Addicted children and they showed through CAT scan the difference with blood flow to the brain when a person is grateful as opposed to angry, fearful, upset, jealous etc. the difference was an even smooth flow to all parts of the brain compared to spiky, splotchy, patchy patterns. I know it is helpful to share frustrations with friends and family. I appreciate prayers, a good listener, a funny joke, a great snack, a kind word when I am struggling with the trials of life. I really hope my son, Jack(age – almost 14) can meet you soon. I know you would be an inspiration to him. thanks for sharing – you help keep things in the right perspective. Mary – Secretary at Saint Anne’s

    Reply
  • 9. Andy Evensen  |  Thursday, September 7, 2006 at 8:03 am

    just write about whatever’s on your mind at the moment. we dont need too much of one or the other.

    anyway, haven’t talk to you in awhile man, i hope your not too bored, let me know if you want to head into phily some time, i’ll spend the day w/ you.

    Reply
  • 10. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Thursday, September 7, 2006 at 3:35 pm

    Yikes. If I made you feel like you should only write about positive things, I am sorry. I meant keep a positive outlook. You should write about whatever you want/need to write about. When dougtales started, it seemed to be to keep people who care about you up to date on your progress. Now, I think it should be what you want to make it. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

