An update after my team meeting–

Monday, September 11, 2006 at 5:35 pm 4 comments

Hey people!

So i’m finally at the point when writing today won’t be too depressing for you all to read, so that’s good. For about 2 hours or so, I was very dissappointed about how my therapists think about my progress. Anyone reading this must think that I’m doing great. Hell, I do too! And so do they- however, they still want some assurance that everything I want to do is and will be safe. And that is:

The thing I was very much hoping to hear today was whether or not I’d be able to ride soon, again. But, in good Moss Rehab fashion, they were very much against the idea of telling me whether I’m allowed to ride again. Instead, they said that they would like to see me ride a bike before they clear me for it. SO- the plan: this wednesday, my occupational and physical therapists are going to have me ride in the parking lot and they’ll decide what the story is from there. As I can expect, they’ll say I can’t ride just yet, even after that. They’re very good at doing that, I must say. Now, please don’t think that once I do the trial riding, that I’ll have been out on the road. It won’t even feel that way, trust me. I won’t be out on the road unless it’s with you all. Anything else is as lame as walking. K? If they okay me to ride, on wednesday, I would like to ride on west river drive on Saturday (the 16th). That means YOU must come out and show me your support! I won’t hate you if you can’t make it, but I want everyone who cares about me to be there, making it truly a momentous occasion. It is for me. I’ll let you know for sure if it is going to happen on saturday the moment I get back from therapy on Wednesday. Sound good? And once again, thank you so much for all you’ve done.

On another note, they did clear me for sitting in on two (2) courses this coming term at Drexel. That means that I’ll get a very good idea of what stance I have for going back to engineering. They still say that I have more recovery to do, and so if I don’t have a problem taking the courses, then I know that I’m doing very well! What can I say? I always put myself on a high level, whenever possible.. I’ll audit (sit in on) two classes. A calculus course (officially); probably calc II. And, I’ll take a materials course as well. I’ll let you know once I’m sure! You excited? I am!

Okay, I’ve gotta go for now! I’ll see you soon~

Sincerely and with love,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

a great thursday to tell about~ A MESSAGE FROM DOUGTALES’ MOM

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Ofchinick (Beth's mom)  |  Monday, September 11, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    I am very happy that you will be back at Drexel. Two classes now, a half dozen later and so on. I am sorry I cannot be there for your big bike debut but I will be visiting my brand new baby granddaughter in Pittsburgh although I will be with you in spirit.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen Prior  |  Monday, September 11, 2006 at 9:59 pm

    I’m so happy for you! Im glad you can sit in on a couple of classes…good luck on wednesday!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Renee Levine  |  Tuesday, September 12, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    Good luck tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 4. DJ Gialanella  |  Wednesday, September 13, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Good Luck today buddy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

