Change of day for the Ride!

Thursday, September 14, 2006 at 9:49 pm 5 comments

Hey all-

Real quick, and hopefully this gets out to all of you in time for the change of plans. Basically, because of the forecast of rain on saturday, we’ll postpone the ride until Sunday, the next day, at 12:00pm. The weather is supposed to be decent and fine that day, which basically means that there will be no safety issues or whatever, for me. We love safety!

In the event that it does rain on Sunday, or is supposed to, the ride will be cancelled, and I’ll make a post about that as soon as it happens, and am able to get to a computer (which is always right away!) I very much hope that I can still ride this weekend, because I’ve been looking forward to this for so long. However, I can’t expect anything to go the way I want it to, and very often it doesn’t. Here’s hoping (or not!)!

Please write a comment if you have any information that would change this plan. Thanks for your consideration.

Doug

Entry filed under: update.

An Invitation Riding!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Prior  |  Friday, September 15, 2006 at 3:55 am

    OH DOUG!! I’m so happy for you!!!! I wish i could come down to philly to support you!! Words cant describe how happy i am for you!!!!!! have a wonderful time! and here’s to the weather being beautiful!

    Karen

    Reply
  • 2. dougtales  |  Friday, September 15, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    wow! at 9pm on friday night, I’ve just had quite a scare! Other than the fact that I enjoy setting things up and having them run smoothly, I am really looking forward to this ride. Steve IM’ed me and said he saw portajohns all over around the art museum, which indicated that something’s going down this weekend on west river drive! I used my wonderful attention to detail to search online for the dates of large athletic and charity events happening in philly around this time. What comes to mind first? Aids Walk! I got so upset because i discovered that the aids walk is on sunday the 16th…. of OCTOBER! Thinking that they meant september, i began to plan for the worst. Then, through some thinking on Steve’s part, we realized that the thing going on is for Saturday, not sunday. So, it’s still on, and I very much can’t wait. See you soon!

    Reply
  • 3. Joe Kopena  |  Saturday, September 16, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Doug & everyone—I’m very sad that I’m going to miss the ride this weekend (I’m in Boston to officiate an XC race). I hope the weather holds out; I’m sure it will be a great time.

    Doug, my phone cut out while we were talking. I’ll give you a call when I get back to Philly so I can hear all about how the ride went!

    – joe

    Reply
  • 4. caitlin bjellquist  |  Sunday, September 17, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    good luck today! again, i’m unable to make it, this time for an open house… grrr… its a gorgeous day out, perfect for the comeback of all comebacks!

    Reply
  • 5. Stu Schwartz  |  Monday, September 18, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    Hiya Doug,

    I have been monitoring this websit all summer and am thrilled that you are on the bike again. You are probably already faster than I am. I have always felt that the will to do something is as or stronger than the physical ability to do that same task and you are the proof of it. As I get older, I find that the only physical joy I get in on the bike. Last year, I fell off the bike (for reasons I still don’t know) and broke my hand. Not a long rehab – maybe 6 weeks before I was riding again. But, although that injury was miniscule compared to yours, it still made me realize how much riding means to me. Bought a new Cannondale and have about 6,000 miles on it in about 16 months.

    Hope to see you soon. If you are around, I’d love to ride over. What’s your address.

    Glad you are well on the mend. I prayed for you a lot.

    – Stu Schwartz & Newton the Cat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

