Riding!

Sunday, September 17, 2006 at 6:53 pm 2 comments

Hello!

Today’s been an absolutely great day for me, and I hope it was the same for all of my friends! You included! As you probably know by now, today was my day back on the saddle, out on West River Drive, in Philly. The road was closed off (as always, for recreational use) and wide open to make things as easy as humanly possible. And that it was! We departed the parking lot, all 11 of us, around 12:15pm. Before we left, we all got to talking, made friends (those who didn’t beat eachother in races, or claim to have done so), and took a group picture. Enjoy the pic!
Group photo before setting off!

Then, with me in the lead, we left the parking lot! I had no problems getting into the pedals, or anything.
The group moving out!
I attempted to set the pace, but it just didn’t work out for too long! Before I knew it, we were really moving! Now, just so you all know, I was being as safe as I could manage. But, the need for speed eventually caught up to us all, and it kinda became a ‘just like old times’ kind of situation. Just what I would hope for! What we didn’t realize was that we were dropping some of our older riders. I’m sorry Mom! Sorry Sue! However, and just as I had thought it would be like, Bruce held out and kept up with us! Most times, he was far ahead of me. Not for long, I tell you! We’ll have to see what bike frame material is better, carbon or titanium! I think the answer is carbon… For no reason. Okay, time to stop hiding behind the shrubs… Many of you who I spoke to online or otherwise knew of my bike of choice. And just so you know, it HAS been decided! Pending final payment on the bike, I’ll have a 2006 Trek Madone, grey in color, with red highlights. I’m riding it in the pictures. You can’t really see it well, but you can kindof get an idea of it. Soon enough, you can see it in person! I want to thank all of those who attended the Beef & Beer for their help in me getting a new bike. Almost there!
The group slows down

So all in all, we did about 20 miles on the road. I had no problems doing it at all! You couldn’t really expect me to; I ride 15 almost every day on the trainer! I was even kinda hoping we’d do some more riding, but everyone had to get going, at that point. The uPenn kids left first, then when we all stopped at the parking lot, the rest of the bunch had to go. At that point, my mom wasn’t with us, and we were a little worrisome of what she was thinking about the matter. However, in good time, she arrived and was glad everything went well. It really did go amazingly. It was just what I needed; a good workout! I could go for one every day. What’s up for tomorrow? 50 mile ride?

A great day indeed. If you went along, and want to add something, please write a comment! And, thanks to all of you who rode today! It will be remembered for a long time to come.

See you all soon,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Change of day for the Ride! A mental challenge

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dougtales' Mom  |  Sunday, September 17, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    Doug: What an awesome ride today, and such an honor to ride with you and the members of both Drexel and UPenn today. Thank goodness for Sue, us ‘oldtimers’ hammered away at 17 to 18 mph. Thanks also to Drexel team member for allowing me to ‘draft’ along when I couldn’t keep up the 20-25 mph you were all doing.(I’ll have to eat more Power Bars next time…)! A beautiful day .. and I know it’s only the beginning for you Doug! Nice pace riding everyone…so great to see the paceline at the end with the Drexel cyclists whipping along the Drive at 25+! A beautiful day!!!! Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 2. judy  |  Monday, September 18, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    ciao you,

    sorry I couldn’t make it out for the ride, but congrats times a million on making it back on the road!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

