A mental challenge

Friday, September 22, 2006 at 7:41 pm 2 comments

So hey everybody!

It’s funny when I say everybody. It kinda feels like ‘everybody’ is an unknown group of people. But, as much as I would like to know who is reading this, I realize I’ll never know. I realize that some people just like to read and get new news. Perhaps my stories are like a small little day-by-day story for some of you to be reading. I don’t know… The end of this story might be a little uneventful, if you ask me~! I’ve never read about amazing brain-injured people overcoming great odds. Have you? I’ll tell you all what I just finished reading. It’s quite related to this topic: It’s Not About the Bike : The Story of Lance Armstrong overcoming Cancer. He managed to make the kind of story that I’d love to make for my own situation. That is, it didn’t end until he won 7 tours of France. And when he beat all odds (overcoming cancer that wasn’t supposed to let him live). Quite a great story, I’ll tell you. He was too busy riding his bike to update an online blog! I wish I could do the same, if you know what I mean!

Okay, back to the expected topic of this blog. My week has been devoid of blog-writing! I’m sorry about that, I swear. I was waiting for big things to write about to come up. That’s what I do. Hey, I happen to know exactly how many people read this site after Sunday, a date that I warned everyone about in advance for! I’d love to give everyone a date to wait for a blog with pretty pictures to come up, heck I’d love that for myself. But, like my mom tells me, it’s not the big changes that happen often, and even the small changes are important. So, I’ll tell you about my small changes this week.

I’ll try to make them succinct and in chronological order: On Monday, I realized that I no longer was getting better at running on the treadmill. It was either on Mon or Tues that I decided another goal of mine: To also become an achieved racing runner. On Tues I picked up the book I told you all about. I also had an appt with the orhthopedic doctor at HUP, who discharged me. Basically, there’s no more weight restriction on the arm. On weds, I had therapies and realized that my attention to detail is still an ongoing problem of mine. On thurs, I visited the bike shop, and I decided that I’m only going to sit in on 1 course this coming term at Drexel. That will be Ceramics, with professor Barsoum, my awesomest prof! Today at therapies, I found out that I’m beginning to cut down on the number of therapies I have each week! It starts with physical therapy, which of course, I’m best at. I’ll have PT just 2 times a week, instead of three. I’m very much hoping that more therapies will break off, because I do very much hate therapies. All you therapists out there: Can you tell that I enjoy being a jerk to you guys? Yeah yeah yeah. And lastly, just before updating this blog, I finished the lance armstrong book. All 289 pages. I’m glad to be back to reading.

So I took a break from writing this blog to pick up the Trek Madone from the bike shop, which is being lent to me for a ride that I’ll be doing with my mom tomorrow morn. Amazing! I love this bike! It likes to move fast even when I’m just walking with it! One thing it doesn’t want do well is let me on the bike without proper gear. I wheeled it on the street in front of my house today, and half-heartedly tried to get on it just to get onto the sidewalk in front of the house. The seat is so well-positioned that when I try to get on the bike, if I’m not trying very hard to do it, (with proper shoes and shorts and helmet on) I can’t get on very well! It’s a good thing! Now, the bike is on my wall, for the night.
2006 Trek Madone 5.2 Triple

So there you have it: My week. I’ll try to update this site more often. After all, I read other blogs that update every two days! I hope you had a good week. Hope to talk to you soon!

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Riding! Oh new things-

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Exley  |  Saturday, September 23, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    that… is a really nice bike.

    nice work.

    i miss you doug!

    Reply
  • 2. julie egbert  |  Monday, September 25, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    Hi Doug. You don’t know me; I’m a friend of your parents from St Anne’s. (I’m the one who sent over the really bad mac and cheese, sorry about that.) My husband was at HUP during the same time that you were, so I’ve been following you for some time now. And yes, I’ve been reading the blog every week, so I thought it was about time to introduce myself.
    Last week I had tears in my eyes when I read the “message from dougtales’ mom”. I am so happy that you have made so much progress.
    I used to know every word to every Jethro Tull song ever written (by Ian Anderson, not Jethro Tull!), and I remember the line: “life’s a long song.” If only I could remember the name of the song! No pun intended. Anyway, life is a long song, and this time in your life is going to be a distant memory some day. So revel in your progress, and “keep on keeping on.” (I don’t even remember who wrote that one…) Sorry if I sound preach-ey…that’s what happens when you get old. 🙂
    And keep writing! I look forward to it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

