Oh new things-

Tuesday, September 26, 2006 at 6:55 pm 9 comments

Hey all-

So today was a day to experience new things, things that were old, yet are still new to me. Today I took my first “class” at Drexel since the accident! I put it in quotes because I’m only sitting in on it. And I’ll tell you, despite my initial thoughts, this class will not be an easy one. That’s kinda a good thing, kinda a bad thing. First, it started out with the usual stuff for the first day of any class. The prof made very general statements, some great jokes about materials engineering, and then got right to the basics of the topic: Ceramics. Despite my hopes for it to be otherwise, he scared the crap out of me just by throwing in some explanations of the properties and makeup of that material by breaking it down to nearly the most basic breakdown that can be done: calculus! Grr! It will take some time for my mind to get back to thinking in terms of calculus, I know that much. However, I really do think my ability to pay attention, learn info, and take notes is really great. I can’t wait till I have the book in hand, so that I can hopefully learn up on anything that I don’t get the best explanation from being in class with. Downside: the book was written by the professor himself! That means that the way he explains it in class will probably be similar if not exactly like what is in the book!

In other news, my trip to Drexel (and philly as a whole) was great. Around Drexel, I thought that I ::might:: see one or two of my friends outsite. Actually, that ‘one or two’ was more like 6 or 7! Made me feel good, knowing that my visiting Drexel is also beneficial for other parts of my brain. After checking out prices of notebooks and textbooks in the bookstore, I hung around the creese center for just a little. First, I broke open my computer, curious to find out if my old password to the wifi network still worked. I opened up my computer, and the wifi didn’t just pop up like I expected. Then I remembered! I had to manually select the network, select the way the password is set up in a list of others, and type in the network password. Even to me, this list of things to do sounds like quite alot to remember, especially after a brain injury. But I remembered it all! Even the 5 digit/letter password! I typed it in and was smooth sailing after that. Don’t tell anyone, but now I have realized that I can get back to downloading movies on their connection again! Woohoo! While on my computer, I ran into Kevin Feinberg, my freshman-year roommate in the dorms. I was glad I saw him. He’s running some wonderful ska shows in philly. If you have any interest, check out phillyska.com for info on what he’s doing. I might just attend the next show!

After seeing him, I got a wonderful cheesesteak from the lunch trucks, and saw yet another friend, Becky Van Derzee (sp?) and so that made two! While eating, I saw yet another friend of mine, an old co-worker from the time that I worked for the Materials Engineering dept with research. After that, I quick walked to my class, still seeing another friend on the sidewalk on my way there. At the building, I ran into Brennan, who let me have one of his notebooks. Yes, I am still a little lazy. Waiting in a long line at the bookstore is not my idea of refreshing. From having done so much walking, I realized something kinda funny. Today may have been one of the only times I walked around Drexel’s campus! I always had a bike, I’ll tell ya.

So then was class, and afterward, I hung around with the master of funk, Steve! We talked a bit, and met up with Stefan and I got to see his AMAZING bike. Yes, I say it’s amazing for numerous reasons. 1) It’s a cannondale! 2: it’s new! 3: It’s full carbon, and his 60 cm framed bike weighs a whole 2 lbs lighter than the madone, which is only a 54 cm! However, the weight difference does get made up simply by the fact that I am a midget compared to him…

Okay, I don’t want you guys all at once complaining about me writing too long posts! If I have something to update, I’ll do so later. Oh! one more piece of info: I’m actually glad it’s Fall! this is perhaps the first year I’ve been this way. I could blame it on the accident, or perhaps just blame it purely on the beauty of the season. You decide! Plus, new seasons are a way of knowing that time is passing, which is one of the greatest things in this time of my life.

Thanks for reading my rambling!
-Doug

P.S: nobody lets me know when there’s typos on my writings?? Oh yay, attention to detail strikes again!

Entry filed under: update.

A mental challenge Slow Motion

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Bronstein  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 at 7:51 pm

    DUDE LOVE THE MASTER OF FUNK COMMENT, BUT I GOT TO BREAK THE NEWS I THINK STEFANS BIKE IS ACTUALLY BIGGER THAN 60 CM LIKE 62 0R 63 CM. BUT KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK

    Reply
  • 2. Haroon Ahmad  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    yo doug, great to hear your back at school! sadly im on co-op now so i wont be able to run into you. i am however working in center city so i am able to take 1 evening class. also, im driving to work from home and if you ever need a ride home let me know. im not exactly sure of my times yet since today was my first day. but you have my cell number right?

    Reply
  • 3. Stu Schwartz  |  Wednesday, September 27, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Hi Doug,

    Great seeing you the other day. I noticed in your last post that your course required some knowledge of calculus. If you ever need help with any calc or just a refresher (do you take honors cal at WHS?), I would be glad to help you free of charge. Just email me or call me (215)-822-7269.

    After a summer of no flat tires, I had 2 this weekend. Both thankfully close to my house. These things come in three’s so I expect another one today. I just migh stick a nail in the tire just to get it over with.

    – Stu S

    Reply
  • 4. DBs  |  Wednesday, September 27, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    Douggie! So even though I’m at Temple we should hang out at Drexel, I’m there often enough visiting Len. Tomorrow actually I should be there since I dont have class at Temple. Maybe I’ll give you a call later this afternoon to see if you’ll be around!
    ~DBs

    Reply
  • 5. Karen P  |  Wednesday, September 27, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    That’s great news about your class! I hope all goes well!! I can’t wait to come and visit philly!!!!!

    Karen

    Reply
  • 6. Betty Carleo  |  Thursday, September 28, 2006 at 3:57 pm

    Doug – I am another friend of your moms at St. Annes.
    Like julie i have been following your progess by reading dougtales. i am so in awe of god’s work,when i see pictures of your riding your bike. you are a young man with such determination. you have a wonderful family and you have plenty of people still praying for you. Keep up the great work, with god’s help !!!!

    Betty

    Reply
  • 7. Dougtales' Mom  |  Thursday, September 28, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    Doug! It is now official! I just picked up your new bike and this time you won’t have to take it back to the shop on loan!

    Know that every stroke of the pedal, every mile you ride, every turn of the handlebars….that God is watching over you and surrounds you with His angels, and..that you will carry with you the love of your family and friends, both known and unknown who continue to lift you up in prayer. Happy almost 21rst birthday, Doug! Love, Dougtales’ Mom/Dad

    Reply
  • 8. Becky Van Derzee  |  Friday, September 29, 2006 at 1:57 pm

    Dougie- Its gonna be awhile for all of us to get back into thinking in terms of calculus, haha. Co-op made me forget a lot too so you’re not alone in that boat. See you again soon!
    Becky

    Reply
  • 9. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Saturday, September 30, 2006 at 9:33 am

    This is great! Sounds like you had a stellar day, even wihtout thinking of things in terms of calculus. Heaven knows that most of us have never even had the most basic knowledge of how to do that! Keep on making the strides you have been amd congrats on having the bike no longer on loan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

