Lost Words

Friday, October 6, 2006 at 5:05 pm 3 comments

Hey-

Now, I’m a little frustrated by the fact that I lost a whole post’s text right when I was updating the site. I had written alot of stuff in here, and was ready to put it up, when I lost internet signal in my room. So- with all hope of continuing it, (er, starting over) I won’t upset you any further. Sorry for the lost words! I swear I didn’t mean it!!

So my birthday was Wednesday. I turned 12! er….. 21. you choose? Basically, I joke around about that for what seems to be obvious reasons, but perhaps it isn’t. Right now my life feels like I’ve went back to childhood, with the level of freedom I have. Basically, it frustrates me very much, everything that I’m not allowed to do. But, it’s definitely not the end of the world. Every time I complain about my lack of freedom, people snap back with full force; “but at least you’re alive!”. Okay- back to the birthday. It was an awesome day~! I skipped therapy (at my mom’s idea) and instead, we went riding at the trail. After riding for a bit, we settled on riding twice as many miles as there are years since my birth: 42. Not bad, not bad. But it ain’t 100! I won’t complain. I am gonna pick up a new saddle real soon! That thing is soooo bad, the one I’ve got on it. My suggestion to you all: Wait till you have a hunk of cash lying around, and when you need a new saddle, buy a Specialized or a Selle Italia one! They’ve got a “new” thing coming out, where they’ll have numerous sizes of each saddle available, and you’ll get fitted for the best one for you at the shop. This way, you won’t have to worry if you’re buying the perfect saddle for your butt! I know this Bontrager isn’t meant for mine!

Another thing I did that day was had some awesome bacon pizza, and my brother and his girlfriend came over! It was fun, even if I had very few comments to add to the conversation about TV we had at the dinner table. I’m still Doug the TV-hater! I kept thinking that my birthday would be just like any other day, and yet it wasn’t. I’m happy that it wasn’t. After all, it’s like the first birthday since I’ve come back to life! Now, call me weird, but I can tell you every single time that I’m doing something for the first time since the accident. Perhaps that’s because I spent so much time in the hospital (1.5 months) or just because I’m gaining the ability to do new things every day… It’s really interesting to me! Now, I very much hate thinking about the fact that I had a “serious” injury a few months ago (5), but I think it’s kinda interesting that I can tell you what I have done, or what I haven’t done, since then. Shrug.

A challenge: Does anyone have a book called “I’m the Central Park Jogger”? Has anyone read it? It is about a woman who was jogging in NY’s park one night, when she was attacked and received serious injuries as a result. Which injury? Traumatic Brain Injury, to be precise. Of course it’s interesting to me. My neuropsychologist, Stephanie, told me about it today.

Alright, I think you’ve gotten enough Dougtales for now. Actually, I have! Heck, spread the dougtales around! Guess what I’ve now got on my wrist…. A Raisin Hell bracelet, courtesy of Steve (the man, the myth, the wonder-boy)! Anyone got any more rubber bracelets having to do with brain-injured or cancer-ridden kids? (and by kids, I mean adults) That’s a challenge, too.

Alright, have a good one.
-Doug-

Entry filed under: update.

Slow Motion Excavation

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lucy bruno  |  Friday, October 6, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    happy birthday doug

    hope you have many more.

    say hi to your mom for me

    Reply
  • 2. Kristine Graham  |  Saturday, October 7, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Doug. May you have many, many more happy returns of the day. You’re an inspiration.

    Reply
  • 3. Zach  |  Sunday, October 8, 2006 at 12:50 am

    Man.

    I hate this webstite.

    Everytime i come here i realize what happaned when all this time ive been trying so hard to forget about it.

    As much of a dick i am to you which i don’t even know why i am

    there arent many nights that i dont go up to my room and lay down and want to scream at the fact that you of all people had to go through this.

    You were and still are the very person i look up to.

    No matter how much of a kid you feel like, you are my brother nonetheless and i love you as one.

    I feel like i havent been treating you that way and i jsut wanted to apologose for rhis and the way i’ve been acting.

    I’m right here a few rooms away and i feel like im miles away

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

