Shocking information!

Monday, October 16, 2006 at 2:45 pm 4 comments

Hey all-

This will actually be a short post for once. But, important none the less. So you know how bicycle helmets have to pass certain specifications before being given CPSC, ANSI, or other certifications? Well, that’s all fine and dandy.. Heck, it’s great. However, a site that I looked at today, (http://www.magma.ca/~ocbc/hfaq.html) states that helmets aren’t designed or have the capability of minimizing the amount of rotational (resulting in diffuse injury) stress on the head! Not just that, but in order to pass, they only have to work properly while traveling at a speed of 14miles an hour! So yeah! Now I know why head injuries are so high in occurence every year. Hey, I know they’re not all caused by biking, but I’d say that helmets really need to be designed differently for cyclists like me. I guess that if you ride at 20 miles an hour, like i do, you can just give up thinking it’s safe to wear a helmet! If I can continue to be in materials engineering, I swear to you I’ll make this situation better for all.

Talk to ya soon.

-Doug

P.S: So guess what I have stashed away in my tools, for now~! The other day when I was at Dave’s place, where all the stuff my grandfather gave me is stored, I noticed an organizer that really required my attention. What was in it? I expected all the items inside it to be silver. One small, 50-yr-old bottle in the back was full of AgNO_3_…. Silver Nitrate! Just for all you non-doctors or non-science people, silver nitrate cauterizes skin. It’s a poison, that I actually have had used on my granulation tissue caused by my feeding tube site. I’ll never even think about touching that stuff again. And, tomorrow, I’ll get rid of that stuff. Don’t go asking where I’ll put it, you don’t want to be chemical burned!

Entry filed under: update.

Lyrics Just give me a darn milling machine!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen P  |  Tuesday, October 17, 2006 at 10:56 am

    AgNO_3_….when you put it like that, it’s OWL all over again…

    Reply
  • 2. dougtales  |  Tuesday, October 17, 2006 at 12:30 pm

    I was hoping somebody’d pick up on that! I love using OWL’s way of distinguishing subscripts and superscripts. I’ll use it till the day I die, now! And for those of you who have no idea what we’re talking about, OWL stands for Online Web-based Learning. It was an activity we, as engineering freshmen, had to do each and every week. And it was quite annoying. But hey, it did do something! Give me some CO_2_! How bout some Cl_2_? I really shouldn’t want some Cl_2_… If you know what it is, please tell everyone else why it’s such a big deal!

    Reply
  • 3. dougtales  |  Tuesday, October 17, 2006 at 12:39 pm

    Oh man, now I’m really having fun with the idea of chem! Thank you so much, Mr. Schultz, for telling me about DiHydrogen Monoxide! Quite a spiffy compound, I’ll tell you. : )

    Reply
  • 4. Karen P  |  Tuesday, October 17, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    yeah…i like water too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

