Just give me a darn milling machine!

Friday, October 20, 2006 at 11:31 pm Leave a comment

Hey you people!

What’s new? Anything? Something is, I hope. Ya need something to tell the days apart. So I get questions that test my memory all the time, and very often it’s not the ‘day of the week’ that helps my memory piece itself together, but it’s the small events of a day that make me remember when it happened. I think today had a good example of what made it an easy day to recall: I had my last day of physical therapy at rehab today~ So just in case you didn’t already know it, I’m offically physically fit! Oh my! To end with a bang, I ran on the treadmill and did 3 miles, for the first time. It only took me a few months to realize that the way to mentally stand running on a treadmill is to watch the miles add up! Up till today, I just watched my time on the thing increase! It never worked. I made a goal of 3 miles, and I accomplished it with very little discomfort. And- today I tested my real running legs! I enjoyed it greatly. (I ran to Old York Rd from my house)

So I told you to give me a milling machine because, well, it’s the only thing I don’t have. I mean, yeah, I DO have one, but only a tiny one, I must say. I have a full-size lathe, a bandsaw, drill, you name it, and it makes me real happy. But lemme tell you, a milling machine would be super! That way, I could manufacture latches for the bracelets and jewelry I make, with no problem. Okay, so yeah, I don’t need a 500-pound machine just to make .1 oz latches… I can really make em just fine with the milling machine I have. I think on tuesday, I’m going to find a way of bringing the milling machine home to work with. That, and the propane blowtorch and brazing tools! I’m gonna learn to braze, real soon! So hey, real soon I might be able to make you tiny ‘welded’ bike frames, for your pet mice or gerbils to ride! Won’t that be exciting. Oh, that makes me think of another thing I could design! Miniature bicycle wheels! They’d be completely useless, but i do think that there’s the possibility of making them at a scale 1:50 ! Sweet!

Last thing: a message to my fellow recovering friend, Barbara (known since inpatient at MossRehab): It was good seeing you the other day! Sorry we couldn’t hang out longer. You better be doing a long time on the treadmill, nowadays! If you’re not, I’ll have to guilt-trip you into it. After all, if I can do it, you can (despite the umm, age difference?)! Well, I hope you read this, because I want to let you know that the bracelet you wear is a little out of date! If you’d like, you can have a new, nicer one! But, that would mean you’d have to take the one you have currently, off. That’d be the biggest challenge? If you read this, leave a comment below, to tell me if you’d like one~!

Well, I must say, I don’t have really big things to write about. Thanks for reading, anyways! Talk to you soon.

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Shocking information! Saturday in Phila

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

