Saturday in Phila

Saturday, October 21, 2006 at 10:29 pm 1 comment

Hey Ya’ll-

Doing good, I hope? Let me know if something big is happening, please!

Okay, so today I had an awesome time in Philly with my friends Karen and Stephanie. So, a little background: Karen was an engineering student and Kelly Hall tenth floor resident for my first year. We met in classes and stuff and hung out a bit, and then she transferred to SUNY Oneonta the following year. Stephanie is her roommate in the dorms this year, and prior to today, we just talked online about little to nothing. It was awesome meeting her, finally! Many funny times. Here’s a pic of them!
Karen and Stephanie

So the day was pretty simple: We walked all over philly! Really, there isn’t much of Philly we didn’t get to. Okay, I know that’s a bad statement. Yes, we missed alot, but we DID go to South Steet, Center City, Penn’s Landing, Drexel, The art museum, and others. Along our journey, we found strange things we never saw before, checked out sidewalk sales, took pictures, made inappropriate comments, and the like. We even were asked for change a few times by bums, saw many street performers, and walked through some ‘projects’! I told them then, and I think we all agree that the most unexpected thing we ran into while walking was a thrift store we checked out. No, this wasn’t JUST a thrift store. It was the AIDS thrift store! I made sure I got a good sense of what it was like, so I went in, and was pleasantly surprised! They had someone DJing the store with cool beats, had funny comments about unusual things they sold, and had some really great clothes to sell, as well! If you ever get a chance to roam around near 5th and Bainbridge, check the place out! I assume all their proceeds go to helping people who have aids? ( ED: I found their blog/webpage, and added the link to my list of links on the right side of the page! ) It’s a great thing.

So lastly, and most importantly, I wanted to show you all a pic of a funny graffitti on a wall we walked past! It was a true festival, indeed.
Sausage Fest

Well, after spending some time on Drexel’s campus, I had to head back home. I hope their time in the city was as great as mine was! Let me know if you want to hang out, all you people! See you soon! And thanks for showing me a good time today, Karen and Steph!

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

Just give me a darn milling machine! Neistat Bros Movie

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen P  |  Sunday, October 22, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    YEs, I did have a GREAT time!!! I miss you already!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,332 hits

