Bingo!

Friday, November 3, 2006 at 12:39 am 1 comment

So yeah, I’m bombarding you all with blog posts. Which is probably a good thing!

Okay, so the reason I say Bingo, is because I finally found the information that I’ve wanted for 6 months now. Okay… maybe not 6 months, but ever since my mind worked, it wanted to know the answer. Now, even this engineering-mind has the facts. SO… (drumroll) the current principle that governs the design of helmets is that an acceleration of 300 g’s causes brain injury. Essentially, all helmets on the market are designed to protect your brains from that rate of trauma.

However, the source I found (bike helmet safety institute) also states that at the current time, rotational force is not taken into consideration when testing a helmet. Bingo, once again! Rotational forces ::cause:: the worse form of brain injury: diffuse brain injury.

All told, I can say that if you want to be on the up and up in safety while riding a bike, check out the info they have on their website. It’s government backed, too. They say everything they want to say and more, and do a much better job of describing it than I do. Yes, every one of my friends thought I was insane for having anger toward bike helmets, and seemed to think that I actually am against helmets. That is very untrue- I am very FOR helmets, but not for the way they’re tested and marketed, currently. What this site tells one is exactly what I’d tell you if I could. Umm, plus a bit.

So yeah, I wish there were a way of finding out if my injury was caused by the types of flaws they have found in bike helmets! I personally think it was, or hope so. If not, maybe I could be all scientific and prove that my injury was a mistake of the manufacturer?! Nah…

Well, enjoy the information. Learning is the best thing any person can do to make things better.

Alright, I’m out. Oh yeah, Just a heads up- the link to the site I spoke about is on the right side of this page. : )

Sincerely,
Doug

Entry filed under: update.

HAHAHAHAHA Oh the weaves we weave.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. The Jamoker  |  Wednesday, November 8, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    Doug,

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate your comment. And, you are right…it seems to be getting worse, not better.

    I was very sorry to read your story about getting hit. I am VERY glad you are ‘back on the bike’ so to speak.

    I was struck by a car back in ’97…and, the helmet saved my life. I was extremely fortunate and didn’t have any broken bones or something more serious. I just landed on my head at 30mph after being struck.

    Best Regards…

    The Jamoker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

