Metric

Thursday, November 9, 2006 at 12:21 am 2 comments

Have you ever stopped and wondered why this country is so weird?

I dunno, just a second ago I was staring (as usual) at my bike and thought about how every single component is advertised and sold using the metric system. And yet- ::gasp:: us americans still teach and foster the english system in schooling? I think we’ve stuck to that system for long enough! Yes, I will be the first to admit that my mind actually has rerouted itself to thinking in terms of centimeters and stuff. It’s almost at the point that it has begun thinking in terms of kilometers! I just think that if this country is supposed to be on the cutting edge of all things, why haven’t we focused on the cutting edge of measurement? Now, let’s not expect that all americans use the english system. That’s incorrect. Me, and thousands of actual engineers use the metric system. That’s how your computer, your car (domestic or otherwise), heck, I bet even your watch was designed in metric!

Okay, now that’s my rant for the day. LEARN METRIC! Stop saying “I ran 25 miles today!” How many kilometers did you run?

All you gotta do in your head is multiply the number of miles you did by 1.61! Heck, I’ll break that down for you even further, just for fun, and since I like spreading the love. To do that in your head, all you gotta do is take 25, and move the decimal point one place to the left. That gives you 10% of the number. 2.5. Then, all you gotta do is multiply that number by 6 to get 60% of your number. That makes 15. Then, the last step: you’ve found 60 percent of your original number, 25. To get 25×1.6, just add your .6(25) (which is 15) to your original number. What’s that give you? 40 km! I’ve used my handy dandy unit converter, and 25 miles is equal to 40.2336 kilometers. Thar ya go! Hope I helped. All that math you can do in your head. Next time you’re curious if you’re breaking a metric speed limit, you can do that fun math problem in your head! Impress the kids, heck, maybe even impress the policeman!

Have a good day~

Entry filed under: nerd.

This just in! So I emailed the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristine Graham  |  Thursday, November 9, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    Add the field of Medicine to those who use metric
    measurement. I’ve tried for years to figure out why
    the rest of the country can’t see the logic to metric.I
    think that many folk think that you always have to convert
    it back to English!

    Reply
  • 2. Janice Gorenflo (Reese)  |  Thursday, November 9, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    Doug and all – just checking Dougtales, and saw that my last post duplicated itself. (it could not possibly have been my error!) could someone remove the second, identical post? Thanks and take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

