I can finally ride on my rollers again!

Thursday, November 23, 2006 at 11:43 pm 1 comment

So here’s your chance to see that I’m still recovering, just about 6 months post-accident! I am aware that this is a tiny thing for most people (and yet huge at the same time), but to me it’s wonderful. Essentially, I brought my rollers up to my room over a month ago, with the hope of doing some light training on them. First hurdle: I didn’t have any means of support while starting up on them. After much thinking, I realized that all I had to do was raise my chainmail link-making tool up a couple inches, and if I did a good jorb of securing it, that would be a perfect, wide means of supporting myself. I was correct! It’s a double-whammy. Next hurdle was alot more vague. Essentially, even with the support, I couldn’t ride on the rollers for more than 20 seconds before losing balance and having the front wheel fall off one side of the spindle. Very depressing for me. I had no idea what was up. Perhaps my brain has gotten better in the two weeks since I last rode the bike on the rollers…? Today, I tried the rollers, but just to ensure that I wasn’t crazy, I rode on the trainer as well (not at the same time, of course!). On the trainer, I noticed that my hips had to move slightly. This movement of the hips was the absolute reason why I couldn’t ride on the rollers! On the road, it didn’t affect anything. But on rollers, any movement of the hips changes the center of gravity ever so slightly. That, in my case, was enough to make me unable to ride the rollers. I kept losing balance. So, I moved the seat down a centimeter, and then tried again. That time, I was able to ride on the rollers for about ten minutes! Perfect! So there you have it! If you can’t ride on the rollers, try making sure that your seat is properly adjusted. At the same token, don’t just make sure the seat is good. Make sure ALL of it is. It’ll make you feel better knowing you know what’s up, and plus, you’ll be working out in the end!

And so now I can ride on the rollers, and as a result notice the slight imperfection in my rear wheel. Grr. Nothing’s ever perfect. Oh, and I still have more tweaking of the shifting to do. But I know that’ll be easy. In general, I’m really glad I can figure things out for myself!

If only my rehab therapists knew I could figure out ‘supplementary strategies’ for daily living without their help, now! They probably know it but don’t wanna tell me. At this point in time I don’t even care if they read this… I told my parents and now shall tell you that I absolutely positively will not continue rehab with Moss Rehab after things are through on an outpatient basis. I do not want to start their “Community Re-entry Program”. Because the name is just crappy. You all know I’ve lived and worked with the community for 4 months now. Seriously. I don’t need more people telling me how to do it.

Okay, and lastly, I’ll show you a pic of my setup in the room with my rollers! The bike and the Kreitlers

Alright, Hope you had a great Thanksgiving~.

-Doug

Entry filed under: cycling, nerd.

Grr! Long lines and red tape. Carbon Fibre shortage!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  Friday, November 24, 2006 at 5:19 am

    ‘I do not want to start their “Community Re-entry Program”. Because the name is just crappy. You all know I’ve lived and worked with the community for 4 months now. Seriously. I don’t need more people telling me how to do it. ”

    Right on. You’ve been doing anything but living in a bubble for the past few months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

