Carbon Fibre shortage!

Saturday, November 25, 2006 at 2:08 pm 1 comment

Now, the general public could probably care less about this, but there’s currently an across-the-board shortage of carbon fiber! Amazing! Essentially, there’s no reason anyone like myself should actually be happy to read this, but I am. I guess it’s because I expressed my concern on the fact that carbon fiber bikes are almost on their way to becoming no big deal. I want em to be!

At any rate, you all know I have studied materials engineering for some time. I never made carbon fiber in classes or the like, but it’s truly a shame that there’s a shortage. I was planning on picking some up and making some christmas presents with it! I may have told a select few of you my interest in doing things with the wonder-material. It’s just so pretty. Who cares about lightness, I just care about how creative you can be with it!

Oh and that reminds me, I just wanna put this out there… The cycling world is obsessed with materials! It’s crazy! Being someone who has had to understand the usage of a material, I find this quite humorous. You might buy or consider buying a wheelset made out of carbon fiber, and the reason you buy it is in fact because it is carbon. The other day, I noticed that a wheelset for sale in some catalog had a pretty short, vague explanation. A 800 dollar wheelset. But what they definitely made sure they’d let you know about is that the quick-release skewer is made of titanium. I rest my point. Now, titanium is an awesome material, but they don’t explain why titanium is a great material to be used in the skewer at all. They know people just expect that it is light, and it’s ::COOL!::. dear dear dear.

Alright, gotta help get ready for this country’s favorite consumer holiday, Christmas. Lights!

-Doug

Entry filed under: nerd.

I can finally ride on my rollers again! “Build A Bike Challenge” and more!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dougtales' Mom  |  Tuesday, November 28, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    Good luck tomorrow on Wednesday at CBS Channel 3 Build a Bike Challenge! We’ll be watching the news at 5:00 am to 7:00. Way to go Doug! GOOD LUCK!!! Love, Mom, Dad, Zach, and Evan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

