Random stuff

Tuesday, December 19, 2006 at 9:46 am 1 comment

Hey all-

So this post is actually the first in quite a while that I didn’t have some sort of plan for. I just haven’t updated recently! Sorry bout that, I’ve been keeping busy as best as I can.

So yesterday, I did ten miles of riding, on a running/cycling path in horsham. And the knee still acted up! It’s not the end of the world, but I’ve decided that if it acts up after another break from cycling (probably a week) I’m going to contact a sports physiologist. Best thing I can think of.

Going hand in hand with the cycling thing, one thing has been on my mind a bit these past few weeks. So, on Dec. 27, 28, and 29, I’m taking the first of two driving tests. I forget how much detail I put out about it. Essentially, this driving eval is set up for two reasons: so that I can drive a car again (psh, who needs that?) and so that everyone will feel comfortable with me riding my bike on the road. Regarding the testing, I’m 100% positive I’ll do well on it, and so it’s just a matter of patience, waiting around for it. That’s hard to do when you have to wait for your dual-control permit in the mail from penndot! In order to get out on the road with an instructor, Penndot insists that all people who have sustained a head injury must apply for a dual-control permit. The instructor will have a brake at his feet, for the car, and I’ll have one at mine while I’m at the wheel. Cheesy! I know my injury was a big deal, but the fact that I can’t just test out of all this stuff is really annoying. I understand that many of you do not spend too much time with me in person. If you did, I’m sure you’d see that I’m doing great, and that my mind is where it should be.

Okay, on to other stuff… I’ve been ‘relearning’ my computer and all the stuff that is within it! I did actually find more pictures of flowers. No- I’m not a flower maniac. To the same extent, I could post a picture of me after crashing in a race, with a really bloody arm! (I’ve done it more times than I should have!) You wouldn’t want that, I think. At any rate, I considered posting more flower pics, but I think I’ll hold off for a little bit. It’s really interesting to look through my own stuff and kinda unearth things. I know/knew that I had certain pictures or files on my computer, but the whole extent of them was a little lost. I do have a visual memory, but the injury actually wiped out a few (just a few) of the images! So looking at my old pictures was fun. I’ll have to it again sometime soon. And maybe on impulse I’ll post one of em on here, you never know.

Another thing has been on my mind alot lately… New year coming up! I might have mentioned that this was the year from hell. I look forward to the next one, definitely. Truth of the matter is, a calendar year is just a calendar year. But- it’s a new number! AMAZING! haha. My real year will end on May 31st, 2007. That will mean that if one is happening, I could do a road race on June 1st~ If you hear of one coming up around that time or afterward, let me know.

~Well, I think I’ll go for now. This one entry goes against my idea of what to transform this blog into: an educational experience. Eh well… Sometimes you just can’t focus on things that don’t affect you at all. Heck, I could say one word that does affect you: Holidays!! You might look forward to them, you might not, but it still affects you, for sure. Okay, I’ll get going. See you.

-Doug

Entry filed under: photos.

A photo. Video

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen Ofchinick (Beth's mom)  |  Tuesday, December 19, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    I really really enjoy reading the posts and following your progress. May you and your family have a wonderful, blessed Christmas. Let me know if you received the pic of you and Beth at the Christmas party, if not send me your email address.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

