New-ness

Wednesday, February 28, 2007 at 7:40 pm Leave a comment

Hey all-

I have been waiting on updating till I have alot of things to talk about… And the ‘lot’ never comes up! I do have some new things to talk about though. I planned on posting last night, but then I just found other things to do… It happens quite a lot. That reminds me: I’ve still got to fix the bathroom door latch! I would love to have a milling machine to do the work I have to do. It’s overkill, but awesome overkill. Anyone got one to give away?

So what’s new? For the past week I’d been mulling some stuff around in my head, and I finally came to a conclusion, along with help from my parents and friends. So, this Saturday marks the first day of the Spring collegiate road racing season. I won’t be racing in the pack for some time, but have been planning on doing alot of time trials instead. I just really wasn’t sure if standing around while everyone’s racing would be enjoyable for me, you know what I mean? I needed a push or two, but have since realized that I can be of use, and it’ll be a really awesome way of pulling myself closer to doing things that I used to do alot of, and miss greatly. It’s pretty obvious, I’m a bike freak. I talk about it alot on here. Come Saturday, I won’t just be watching races… I’ll do an Individual Time Trial (ITT) as well! I’ve done plenty of them before, but I must say I’m a little excited. Funny enough, I am enjoying the actual preparation much more than I expect to enjoy the racing. After all, I will only be riding (more like sprinting) four miles, on a flat section of road.

That being said, I have begun to program my mind as to what kind of things I can do to prepare for the sprint. Yesterday, I rode 22 miles, and it made me feel alot better. I really wanted to raise my average speed a little. I did, too! It went up from about 15 mph, to 16. How did I do it? I focused on the two most important factors that affect your maximum effort: cadence (pedal RPM) and heart rate. The ideal cadence is 80 rpm, give or take 5 or so. And, each person has a point at which their exercising heart rate get’s too intense to keep going. I’ve done alot of testing with my heart rate, and didn’t even realize it. I work in terms of the percent of my maximum heart rate possible. My maximum heart rate is 198 beats per minute. By doing this, you can have an idea of which zone you’re in at all times. Except I couldn’t care less about zones… I just know that when my heart rate exceeds 85%, I have only about a minute of exertion to go before I begin to really wheeze and slow down. On saturday, I will stay around 80 all four miles. I don’t think it will be a problem. That way, I can be sure that I at least put out my best effort. And I’ll have the stats to prove it!

These next few weekends are going to be intense. This weekend, I am doing the Rutgers ITT. Next weekend, I will be helping out with the show for Drexel/UPenn/JHU/Temple’s awesome race, The Phat Philly Phlyer. I’ll be a marshal, I assume. The weekend following that, I will be helping Episcopal Academy’s Robotics Team compete at the Chesapeake Regional Competition, their very first one. I think the week after is Drexel’s robotics competition, too. But don’t quote me on that last one.

Alright- that about covers it for now. I’ll be sure to fill you all in about how the race goes, once I’ve completed it. That will include a link to the stats(map, speed, heart rate, cadence, everything), too!

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Here’s a good one for ya… As usual, legs are… tired.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,335 hits

