A quick update about the weekend

Monday, March 12, 2007 at 9:17 pm 1 comment

Hey-

So this weekend was awesome. I could spend a long time explaining the tiny details, but I don’t have a lot of time right now.

Saturday: On Saturday I ended up saying ‘screw it’ and with the help of Joe and my parents, decided to do the Intro category race. It was a circuit race. The first lap was coached, and then the second lap was racing. I had no problems at all, really. The hardest thing I had to do was be good at going slow for the first lap! In the second, real lap, I ended up coming into my own. I ended up being in the front of the pack the majority of the time, but when it came to the end of the lap, everyone had energy to spare… Sandbaggers! My finish was 11th, out of 23.

On Sunday, I did the criterium race, and it went really well. It was 5 laps of racing, and one or so laps of just coaching. I jumped right on the bandwagon, knowing I could do much better than the previous day. That being said, I finished third. I would have finished first if it weren’t for having sprinted a lap too early! (haha, the updated, embarrassing version!) I now know that I can not only race proficiently, but I have some strength, too. woohoo!

This post constantly gets thrown aside. If you checked this post earlier, it was longer and full of links. Now, after wordpress deleted part of this post, I had to re-update. That makes me sad. I will add more later, I guess.

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Howdy. The weekend pt. 2, and stuff

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dougtales' Mom  |  Monday, March 12, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You were awesome on Sunday! You had your ‘cycling face’ on during the race and we knew that you were ‘back’…! Now you need to go to the DOUBLE and ditch the triple crank.. hmmm dreaming of DuraAce?!! It will probably shed some weight on the bike too right? Dad and I are so proud of your amazing comeback in cycling. Look out racers .. Dougtales is back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,303 hits

