Lower Providence Crit Follow-up and other stuff

Sunday, April 22, 2007 at 10:08 pm 3 comments

Hey all-

So today has been a full day, surely. I woke up at 6 am, and who knows when I’ll actually hit the pillow… There’s a bit of stuff I think I’ll mention.

The Race:
As I have told, I woke up today at 6am. Standard racing time. My dad gave me a ride from Abington to Spring Mill, where I picked up the Schyullkill River Trail. Rode a good ten miles as a wonderful warmup for my race, and managed to get there with just enough time to see the course a little, sign-in, and still watch the start of the Cat 5 A-field race. I’m glad I got a chance to catch that, as my friend Bruce was racing in it. He managed to relax in the back then entire race, and then gather up all his energy and finish in the top 8! I’m jealous. I am just a bit more literal with the way I race.

How I raced: I really felt that I was right on target in this race. Yeah, it was a flat, 4-corner crit course with very nice pavement. You couldn’t have asked for a better course, really. In this course with four 90-degree turns, I finally came to terms with the fact that I only like to take turns on the inside of the pack. The inside? Yeah, I like tight spaces, I guess. I think taking the inside just gives you more freedom to choose your position upon exiting the turns. Alright, back to my race… I stayed in the front-ish part of the pack the entire race, with hardly any difficulty. It was only when the last lap happened that I made a mistake. I was a little unsure about an out-of-the-saddle sprint, so I just didn’t do it. Most of the riders passed me with no problems at all. Sigh. I have learned once again. The race was great, regardless. My official standing was 17th (out of about 25). A cheesy pic of the race: Lower Providence Criterium

After the race, I spent some good time talking to alot of people I knew from Drexel, bike shops, school, you name it. After that, I took my time and rode home to Abington. That brought my daily mileage up to 50.5 miles! I like that number. It correlates with the fatigue in my muscles. Oh, and it brought the mileage that I have done in the last 7 days to a total of 165.58 miles! Almost 200… That’s a goal of mine, but not too serious of one.

So I got home, and then cleaned my room, and met up with my friend Beth for the remainder of the day. We went to a cool park and did some walking there, watched Zoolander (you can’t go wrong with that!), and then I had my hair cut! Beth is my official hairstylist/haircutter. I made an unspoken pact to wait till I could see her again to have my hair cut, and then she up and came back to the area just to cut it! Hehe. Here’s a pic I took of the hair afterwards: Haircut

So that’s my day. Back to the grind tomorrow… This weekend has gone too quickly.

-Doug

UPDATE: Here’s a photo Anthony Skorochod took during my race! You can hardly see me, but hey, I’m there. Lower Providence Criterium Racing

Entry filed under: cycling.

A delayed post about racing… 200-mile week goal accomplished.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anthony Skorochod  |  Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Hey, I may have a picture of you. I have a few shots of the Cat5 B race. I showed up at the tail end and managed to get a few shots of that race. Maybe I have a shot of you?

    Reply
  • 2. Anthony Skorochod  |  Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    I have a gallery from Kirkwood as well.

    Reply
  • 3. Anthony Skorochod  |  Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    oops- I forgot the damn link: http://velocycle.smugmug.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

