Robert Fulton Road Race follow-up

Sunday, July 22, 2007 at 10:03 am 2 comments

Hey all-

Yes, I did another race yesterday… I wish I could say I did amazingly, but that is just not the case! The Robert Fulton Road Race was located in Peach Bottom, PA and was actually the PA State Championship for road race… I knew the race would be hard. However, it was at least ten times harder than I thought. It had been a while since I’d even climbed hills like the ones in the race!

So, I was ‘dropped’ (pack was too fast for me) in the first lap, right as the second big hill was upon us. I do have reasons though! Turns out, the Cat 4 race started off extraordinarily quickly. To prove this, all I have to say is that in the first 300 meters, the pack somehow got to 27 mph or so! That is fast for anyone. All those riders at the front of the field must have really wanted to weed out the weak ones early, I suppose. First lap, they just kept it much faster than a number of people could handle. Even though I was dropped, I decided to finish the race. I have to say though, I did think about pulling out at times. So really, I spent 35 of the 40 miles all by myself, more or less. Such a nice ride! haha. I hope a number of riders pulled out, that way I won’t be the worst rider at the race!

As is always available, here are the race stats. Just to give you a good idea of the hills, there were two big ones, the first being 11%, second being about 12.5%. I’ve done harder, but they were long, too. That, and much more info, is available by viewing my race stats.

Alright, I think my legs have recovered just enough to warrant a long ride today. So, I shall get back to you all soonish!

~Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sorry to have made you wait! My weekend in the Foothills of NY

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Ruth Murdoch  |  Tuesday, July 24, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Well, I’ve been watching the Tour “day” France. Did you know that Alberto Contador of Discovery (currently in 2nd place overall) had a serious head injury and was out of racing for 2 years? Now he’s sprinting up mountains with Rasmussen, challenging for the yellow jersey. So … And by the way, those hills in PA are steeper grades than the Tour. Great job in getting over them!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  Wednesday, July 25, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    I agree wholeheartedly, Mary! Now if Doug would just get “Discovered!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

