My weekend in the Foothills of NY

Tuesday, July 31, 2007 at 2:11 am 1 comment

Hey-

So once again, it has been a while since I have last posted. Grr me. At any rate, I will get on with it and tell you about the great weekend I had.

For the last few years, I had been hearing about an awesome party/convention that my friend Karen and her family holds each year. So, I figured that enough was enough, and booked tickets to get my butt to her! She lives in Galway, NY. If you’re curious, here’s Galway on the map. That meant that first, I had to take a couple buses to get there, each way adding up to something like 7 hours of travel. But, it really wasn’t too bad. I was prepared, and brought both my iPod and my laptop, to watch movies and listen to music. I found it quite amusing how different all the people sitting next to me were.

Friday was mainly travel, and then when I arrived around 4, Karen and I jumped right into the fun atmosphere. Basically, Karen’s father does chimney design/construction/cleaning as I understand it, and is a member of the NY Chimney Sweep Guild. Each year they have a convention, literally all in their backyard. Their backyard is a mere 51 acres… Typically, about 200 people from all over the country come to the occasion, and as it lasts a few days, they set up tents (or RVs) on the property. So, not only is it a chimney convention, but it’s a campground as well! This year, there was only about 60-some people, but it was definitely a big occasion. They had a bunch of large tents over the tables/stage, ten portapotties scattered around, a kitchen built just for the convention, a small building for showering, a few large furnaces/grills/firepits, and lots of great food. I ate more over the weekend than I usually would, and I was supposed to be camping! I still was camping, though. Karen, her two sisters, and I had a small collection of tents in the woods, which really added to the whole experience. It was amusing at first, knowing that Karen and her sisters all had beds in the house, and still chose to sleep outdoors. It shows how much they enjoy the event, I’m pretty sure.

Saturday was the real ‘meat’ of the trip, as I could say. Friday afternoon/evening was great, but Saturday was the day for really doing stuff. And I really did. Woke up late in the morning, had breakfast, and then got right to it all- I even learned how to do some bricklaying! I would say I’m quite amateur at it, but I do know how now. It really does take some practice and finesse. After that, Karen and I went on a hike/tour around her property. It was even more awesome than I expected it to be. I really should have taken some pics while I had the chance, but alas, only a few were taken the entire weekend. One particularly funny thing about her backyard: how many people are able to say (or perhaps only hint at?) they have bodies buried on their property? Part of Galway’s history is right on her property; a small graveyard with about twenty headstones is about 300 yards from their house. It’s just one of many things deep in the woods of their property. There’s a good bit of marshy/squishy land there, a sand pit, fire roads, even very old house foundations. I should mention, there are alot of bugs as well. I’m still itching bugbites or P.I… Oh well.. Saturday evening was the end of the event, which went to a close with a great rock band, some raffles, and even some fireworks. Pics: The band, Karen and I

Sunday was a very relaxed day. I woke up, had some breakfast, and at least tried to help pack things up from the weekend’s madness. By the time I got up, most of it had already been taken care of! A week’s preparation gets packed up in a few hours. Amazing. That afternoon, I hopped the bus back home, and that sure was a long one. I made it through alive though, which is all that matters. It was such a relaxing weekend all told. Most relaxing in a long time, I really should say!

In other news, my mom and youngest bro, Zach, are down in New Orleans for the week, once again helping with reconstruction and whatnot. I’m sure they’ll have a great, productive week! If you guys are reading this, I wish you the best of luck with it, and have a great time!

Alright, I have managed to stay up till 2am just writing this post! Must sleep…

Have a good one,

~Doug

Entry filed under: foothills.

Robert Fulton Road Race follow-up Help me fight Multiple Sclerosis!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  Tuesday, July 31, 2007 at 2:36 am

    It’s funny how you left out the part about the mineral water in Saratoga…hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

