Help me fight Multiple Sclerosis!

Friday, August 3, 2007 at 1:36 am Leave a comment

Hey Everybody-

Blogs are wonderful things. They help you tell everyone what you’re up to, give you something to bring up in random conversation, and heck, even something to brag about sometimes! Today, the blog’s purpose is to gather aid in a good cause.

For the past week, I’ve been mulling over the idea of riding this year’s MS150 ride – Delaware Chapter! My friend Sam said he would be fairly interested, and that was all it took. This year’s MS150 will be my fifth year/time participating in one of the MS society’s rides. It’s a wonderful opportunity: a challenge for the cyclist to raise money for a good cause, and then later on, ride a large number of miles in a weekend. There really is no downside to it! That having been said, I ask for your help in making this year’s MS150 the best it has ever been. In prior years, I gave myself more time to raise money, but this year, I am stronger than ever, have more people to help me out (I hope!), and see exactly what it’s like to be on the other side of the dilemma (long hospital stays, family being very worried, etc)… It doesn’t take much to help out! And it’s really quite easy. You can send me a check, or just visit my page ( Nat’l MS Society page) and click in the appropriate place~

Sam and I have decided to make this a team effort, and are asking Drexel students to join ‘Drexel Dragons’ when they register for the event. However, we would love to have others as well! Perks of riding with us: you can pretend you’re still in your college years (if you’re not!), get to hear how racing is going (for those of us who race), and save your energy at our wheel while we hammer away at mile 63 each day! Oh, and that’s another thing: I will be doing the century option on the first day. Hopefully it won’t be my first 100-mile ride of the season, but as of yet I haven’t done one. Not that I couldn’t, but it’s just that I haven’t had anyone to do it with. I look forward to this ride very much.

Event Details:
MS Bike to the Bay
Date: September 29-30, 2007
Official Start Location: DelTech Terry Campus
Registration: 6:30 a.m.
Ride Begins: 8:00 a.m.
Event Manager: Amy Hughes
Email: amy.hughes@msdelaware.org
Phone: 302-655-5610 ext. 24

If you’d like to help raise funds in any other way, just send me a message, and I’ll definitely be willing to accomodate.

Thanks! I can’t wait!

-Doug

Entry filed under: cycling, MS150.

My weekend in the Foothills of NY I’m back (from what, I know not)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

