Back to the grind. : )

Wednesday, September 26, 2007 at 10:57 am 3 comments

 Heylo-

It’s about time that I updated, right? I’d say so- funny, the time that I decide to do so.. At this very moment, I am supposed to be at multivariate calculus. However, the past few days of it have been less than stimulating, as a result of my time off. So, I took a deep gasp in, and buried myself in my calculus book. I’m surprised to find that the professor, despite being very good at confusing me with jargon and such, actually doesn’t cover alot of material in each class period! I have trod through two sections and gotten to the point that he has reached, and this time, I actually understand it! I now know (and yeah, I had an inkling of idea) that in most cases, reading the book is a much better way of learning and holding new material. I’m happy to be able to admit that. I will return to the class tomorrow with a much stronger confidence in myself.. And in case you were wondering, the prof doesn’t take attendence. For a class that meets four days of the week, a break might be needed here and there, right?

So that’s one class- the rest seem quite good, i think. I am also taking a lab course (that I should have taken while a sophomore), Linear Algebra, and History of Technology. These three all should be quite good. I took linear before and it just didn’t make sense to me. I know it still will take some work, but this professor is much better than the last. And, I think he’s more approachable, too! Last night, after I met with Sandip, I saw him leaving one of the engineering buildings- that was at 7pm or so. If I have a problem I bet I’ll be able to even meet with him in the eve…

So yeah, I met with Sandip… Of course, there’s something to be said there. I am once again going to be helping with Dr. Barsoum’s research this year, this time as a work-study. I wasn’t at all sure what I’d be doing, and I know I mentioned that to a few of you. I’m happy with my assignment, though! I’ll be doing material characterization with the Nanoindenter! I’m pretty sure that made no sense to most of you… I’ll be making dots at the size of 1-nanometer on the surface of a bunch of metals to get a better idea of their properties such as stress and strain. The first sample I’ll be working with is Titanium. Just thought I should mention that since it follows me around like a hawk. OH! One last thing: I did research on a new material, Ti_3_SiC_2_, back in freshman year. Turns out, it IS probably desirable as a bicycle frame material! I suppose yeah, if you’re on the sun?

I know this entry is long- Let’s see here… which photo can I humor you with..
Techno furntiture

Alright- there’s more for me to update on but I really should get to doing things- like figuring out how to tote my rollers over to campus so that they can be used for the Activities Unlimited fair that the cycling team is messing around at! Should be fun, strapping the thing to my back!

Have a good one, and don’t forget to comment~

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m back living in Philly. : ) quite a “vacation” from blogging?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  Thursday, October 4, 2007 at 4:31 am

    Happy 22nd birthday, Doug!! Love, Mom & Dad

    Reply
  • 2. sarah exley  |  Monday, October 8, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    miss you buddy!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Janice Gorenflo  |  Saturday, October 13, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Hi, Doug.
    Been a very long time since I checked your blog or saw you. WHS is fine – same ole same ole. You seem sto be doing really well. Glad to hear that. Take care. Oh, Happy Birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

