Racing and other news

Monday, April 21, 2008 at 9:48 pm Leave a comment

Konnichiwa.

Considering I promised you, my race report comes first. Quite simply, I did horribly. Seriously! I fell off the back of the Category-4 pack in the 5th lap. Yeah, you can think that’s not a big deal, but there were 20 laps in my race. After being ‘dropped’, I tried to bide my time on the course until being pulled, which means they tell you to get off the course, but place you in the standings regardless. No- I was lapped by the field and the judges still didn’t pull me! At that point I decided to just pull out, there was no use. Now to rewind myself… On Saturday I did a ride with Dan and a few others- all told we rode 45 miles. Woke up the next morning bright and early, then rode 23 miles to the race location. After the ‘race’, (ten miles of which completed) I rode home with a few other guys.. That brought my non-racing mileage for the weekend to 90. I won’t claim it to be the ultimate reason, but I may just have worn myself out from riding, well before Sunday’s race. I’m glad I pulled that many miles though. Oh, and during the race I actually did feel comfortable in the pack… That time it was just a matter of sticking to my guns and staying in the right position. Which, I didn’t do. I’ve decided that I should build up more strength before doing another race. What do you think?

After getting home, I literally passed out around 8pm. Which, I could only hope to do every night! Anyways, I slept from 8 until about 11:30, when I was woken up by my friend Adrienne. A while back I mentioned that she was making a documentary about my recovery.. Well, after a number of video shoots, audio tapings, and media scavenges, all her work finally paid off. While I have not seen it yet, the people who put together Penn State’s film festival have! This Saturday, the film will be shown among 12 others at the State Theater in State College. If you’re in the area, I dare you to check that out! I might drive over there to see it, too. I’m sure it’s great. With any luck, I only kind of look like a brain-injured dweeb, right? 😛

When and if I can, I’ll either link you to the video on the internet, or I’ll have you send me messages so that I can show you the video. I’m not really sure how Adrienne will have it be- after all, it really isn’t mine this time.

Hope you’re having a good week~

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Just can’t not mention it Where to begin…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

