Monday, August 4, 2008 at 7:43 pm Leave a comment

Hey all-

Wow- I’m writing a blog post! To be blunt, I haven’t written one of these in a few months. Sure, I have put a few posts up, but those were not like this one, as I hope you will see.

What brings this post… Well, I don’t really want to go into why, but inspiration allows some new things, some old things, and is generally a good concept. Today I’m inspired by my previous being. Today I had a very bad case of the Mondays, and my day felt like it wouldn’t go fast enough. I can’t say I felt drained, but I felt like my mind was not in anything that I was doing, and I suppose I’d much rather have been dreaming. I actually dreamed last nigh- I hadn’t done that in months. One will always wonder why dreams emerge from the darkness (quite literally), me particularly! Of the 364.25 days of the year, I probably only have 10 dreams that I remember.. And when I say remember, I mean :vaguely: remember. All I know is I woke up this morning and was fairly certain that it was a Saturday morning. I really wish it were!

During work today, my mind was going crazy, in a less than a happy way. You know what made things all make sense?? Out of nowhere I was reminded of a song that Adam and I co-wrote and recorded, and then began singing it as I ran a chemical reaction and monitored it. Now, I guess I know a new trick to use when things go awry, eh?

After work I had only one goal: I absolutely had to do some inline skating. I threw my headphones on and skated off. Practiced some 360’s, 180’s, and gaps… Not that it really matters- I’m glad I haven’t thrown an old love out the window. And with my amazing bike currently out of commission, I had to find an equal sport to damage myself with! Today I was lucky I only stumbled down a set of 8 steps, instead of falling or plummeting down them! If I could show you photos, I would. I think soon enough they will surface.

I’ve been doing a bit of running as well- I just can’t keep my hands in one position for a number of weeks, you know? Unfortunately, my grandmother is under the weather and actually has to do that- if you’re reading this, Grandmom, keep impressing everyone in your recovery! If anyone else reading this is currently recovering from something or another, know that there’s only two directions which must be traveled in: forward and upward. I’m more than two years out and I’m still recovering. But, don’t tell anyone I said that!

I really wanted to end this with a photo of some sort, but I’m not entirely sure if I have one that’s particularly motivating… Okay, here we go:

So cliched, it's motivating.

So cliched, it's motivating.

Well, there you have it- I hope I made all of you feel a bit better. Summer’s nearly over, but the fall is coming! Crisp air, new smells, and decaying leaves! Awesome! Do me a favor, and consider what you were doing last Fall. Will this year be a step up?

Have a good one!

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Take it for what it’s worth? (lightly) Growing up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

