Growing up

Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 7:52 pm Leave a comment

Hey people-

These last few weeks have been nothing slight of a roller coaster for me. Being in car accidents, bumping up the running miles, getting my race bike smashed a bit, going new places, and lastly, figuring out just how important sleep is. I won’t say that one thing leads to another definitely, but I feel like lately I’m on my own crash course with reality, and although I can’t say it’s because of one thing, I know it was sped up by it… Awesome, new people really make self-understanding inevitable.

Over the last few days I haven’t been getting much sleep. Instead, I was doing really fun things and having a great time. However, a lack of sleep will only go so far with me before it starts destroying me, and so although I had a lot of fun, the down times were absolutely outrageous. I really don’t want to feel like that at all, ever! Everyone needs a breaking point, and those come around pretty easily if you add sleep deprivation with someone who’s had a brain injury.

I’m learning, though. I really wish to apologise to anyone I end up giving the wrong signals to when I’m in that kind of mood. I’m just not used to myself, some 2 years later! And so, at the breaking point last night, I figured it was a very good idea to take a mental health day today. It feels very good to do it! I got back on my commuter bike and rode all over the city, got some errands done, and generally relaxed.

What I realized while riding is that I really do need to grow up more than I have- I got myself all up in my own world but did not prepare to interact with anyone else’s… And so, I give you a mission: I want to put myself on a positive-spinned crash course, with your help! I would like to do new things, to learn how to do more things, and just experience as much as I can. Please think of me whenever you’re looking to do something different… Maybe you need a buddy? I’d love to put myself in as many new situations as possible, preparing myself even better for whatever one can throw at me. And there are many things one can throw, I know! (rhyme much?)

I try to end all things positively lately, despite having a slightly negative gist… And so, you can hear what I was singing to myself as I rode today:

Have a good one.

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

16 Miles…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

