MS 150 and Philadelphia Marathon

Tuesday, September 16, 2008 at 5:49 pm 1 comment

Hello!

Lately, I’ve been trying to prepare for all sorts of things, and concurrently, I’ve been pretty good at staying out of the limelight. Even my parents have noticed how little I communicate.. At any rate, here I am, and my question now is: where are you?

I could use your help on two fronts.  Most important for the very-near future: the 2008 MS 150 City to Shore! I’ll be riding 175 miles over the course of two days so that people who have Multiple Sclerosis can have a better scenario. This will be my 5th or 6th time riding in this tour, and because it’s still running, you know they still can use help! The ultimate goal is to develop a cure for this nasty disease, but in the meantime a large portion of the help you provide goes toward helping less-than-fortunate people who have to deal with having MS and surviving. Having been through what I’ve been through puts more value in charities like this, for me. Last year, I alone donated $75!

Don’t freak out if that’s a high number for you… Any help you can possibly give will help both the MS society and me…  The nitty-gritty of the deal is that I have a fundraising minimum to meet in order to be allowed to ride my challenge.  The other challenge of this mix? I have a very short time left before my deadline! The weekend of the ride is September 27th and 28th.  I enjoy a challenge, trust me, but this challenge requires help from you to work! If you would like to help me and the National MS society, please visit:

http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR/Bike/PAEBikeEvents?px=5195422&pg=personal&fr_id=8150

Okay- done with my begging…. Please think of me!  My next announcement/help I could use from you: I’ve decided to run in the Philadelphia Marathon! This will be my first marathon, only a few months after having started running!  I had the idea of running a marathon in the very back of my head, but only the last month have I come to believe I can really do it…  Here I am, training for a marathon, and I’m even monitoring my speed, and have goals on how quickly I can finish the race! It’s dangerous, I know… I just love speed. And you know what else I love? When I have people supporting me. Therefore, I’m asking you to cheer me on at the Philadelphia Marathon, which takes place on Sunday, November 23. I actually think I’m nearly all trained for the marathon, almost too early! Nice thing about that is, I can have fun here and there. We’ll see.

Last night I ran 13 miles, which was great. I have a route I do which goes down Kelly Drive to East Falls bridge, then back to my apartment from MLK drive/West River Dr. As I ran past the Philadelphia Rowing Program for the Disabled’s boathouse, I thought about how far I’d come from having gotten their help while first trying to get back on a bicycle. So I said hello to them!  Everyone I met was very nice. It’s not a definite, but I asked them how I could volunteer, which would be awesome.  We’ll see what happens in the near future, with all the different activities I continue to add to my calendar…

I could add them all up… I was offered a part-time job at Performance Bike Shop in philly, I’m starting classes (!), I’m running a marathon soon, I’m doing mountain bike races, trying to pick back up on all my older hobbies…   It’s a good time.  We’ll see how it all turns out, hmm?

Thanks for reading! I hope you can help!

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My new room Unicycling!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  Friday, September 26, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Hey Doug,

    You don’t know me, but I was one of the ICU nurses from right after your accident. One of the other nurses told me about your blog when you started it, and I look at it every once in a while. I can’t even tell you how happy it makes me to see that you’re doing all this stuff! It sounds like your recovery has been excellent.

    Good luck in your races…maybe I’ll randomly run into you among the zillions of people at the marathon; I’m planning to run the half-marathon part of it!

    ~nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

