Broad Street Run

Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 12:19 am Leave a comment

Quite an adventure!

I have learned numerous things from this year’s Broad Street Run.

1. FOLLOW DIRECTIONS WHEN PUTTING TIMING CHIP ON SHOES!
2. Even good runners don’t have consistent running pace.
3. I can keep a Boston-Qualifying pace for ten miles!
4. I can run faster than approx. 22,000 people!
5. I’m horrible at sprinting.
6. I keep a steady running pace (6:00/mile) for 5 miles…

I’m really pleased with how well I ran this past Sunday. But, it was just shy of my 1:10:00 goal! The sad thing is that because I incorrectly installed the timing chip/D-tag to my shoe before the race, I’ll never really know my :exact: time. I believe it was about 1:11:30, but because there was no chip on me, I had to assume the “clocktime,” which was the time that I crossed the finish line. Because I did not cross the starting line until maybe a minute after the horn went off, the clocktime is just a little incorrect.

But hey, I’ll take what I can get! For a while, there was absolutely no record of me even finishing the race. And yes, I’m very proud of my speed. But, I can still be faster! My goals were that I would run it in 70 minutes, and/or that I placed in the top 1000 runners. Next year I will run faster than 70 minutes and probably place in the 750th range, you just watch.

The ‘official’ stats:

Not too bad, right?

Not too bad, right?

Only 1 person yelled 'Go Drexel!' ! Booo

Only 1 person yelled 'Go Drexel!' ! Booo

That water was goood.

That water was goood.

So now that I am fairly confident that I can hold an average pace that’s BQ-worthy for 10 miles, I think I’m going to work on keeping that pace up for another 16 miles. Wanna run with me?

What’s this, 2 emails in one week? Crazy.  I hope all is well with you.

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s May~ May 31st – Century?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

