May 31st – Century?

Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 8:27 pm 6 comments

May 31st falls on a Sunday this year… I’d like to invite all of you (and your friends if they’d like to join) to do a bike ride with me! I can imagine many people would think that of all the days of the year, the 31st of May is the one day I’d prefer to stay off the bike… But exactly the opposite! Help me erase history by building new blocks, and new cyclists!

I haven’t planned anything yet. I’d like to challenge myself while also helping others challenge themselves as well. If I design a route, maybe someone would like to volunteer to be ‘cut-off leaders’? I’d like to do a century (100 miles) but we could maybe invite everyone to join, and have leaders make sure each different level of riding ability is aided, and each different distance is supported?

I don’t look at calendars very much. I like this idea, and for it to work requires quick action/thinking… Send me a message or a comment if you like this idea.

Help me celebrate the 31st of May, on a bike!
There's always a 'first'.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Broad Street Run ‘Say NO to TBI’ Bike Ride – May 31

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison  |  Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I’M IN!!!! probably not for a 100 miles, but i’m in for a bit of it =]

    Reply
  • 2. Deb M.  |  Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Hey Doug – You and your mom have encouraged me so kindly regarding my riding – which I am enjoying ever so much. . . . so I’d be honored if I could join for part of the ride and/or help out.
    Best, Deb M.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    It is an honor to ride with you for this important milestone – now three years post TBI. Count your old mom in!!!! Of course, HELMETS ARE REQUIRED!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Dad  |  Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    As usual, I will be SAG! As for the route – there is always the ride to Easton & then back.

    Reply
  • 5. tjkopena  |  Friday, May 15, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Yo, I’m in town & game that weekend. It’s up to you, but I would recommend swinging west (toward Norristown), then up and over toward the east so that people can head out with us and then head back as they see fit. A couple times some of the guys and I have done big loops that hit things like Drexel -> Norristown -> Doylestown -> Frenchtown -> Drexel. It would be interested to do something more westbound, e.g., Drexel -> VF -> Phoenixville -> Pottstown -> Quakertown -> Doylestown -> Glenside -> Drexel. Downside is without the west/east circle around the city there’s less chance for people to cut out early.

    In any event, I’m down.

    Reply
  • 6. Chris B.  |  Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I’m down for the full 100. Tryin to recruit other people I know that ride.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,335 hits

