Raisin Hope 2009: A Success

Monday, June 1, 2009 at 10:03 am 2 comments

Hey everyone~

I’m really happy about how yesterday’s ride went. I think everyone had a lot of fun!  I want to thank everyone who came, everyone who helped out, and everyone who gave good wishes! I really want to thank my parents for helping keep everyone hydrated and energized throughout the day and Nick Farber for having developed some great routes (not to mention navigating them because I’m incapable..)!   It was really cool to see everyone all talking and having a good time during pretty much all of the first 17 miles. And, I can’t leave out, LOVING the hills… Just kidding. I am kinda glad I made it a challenge for everyone; that was the goal!  The sad part about that was that the metric (?) and century routes were actually pretty much flatter than the first 17 miles… oops!  I know a number of my friends and family were there riding along with us in spirit- Not everyone can ride 35, 65, or 100 miles just because some weird guy named Doug says they can. Thanks to you, too!

The Statistics:

Total riders: 22
Total number of cyclists’ tanlines that were perfected: 22!
Total clif bars eaten: probably 20.
Total miles rode (everyone combined):
~1361 miles
Time that the last century riders got back into the city:
7:00pm
Total $ raised for Raisin Hope Foundation:
$270  (much better than my expectation of just $100!)
Click here to see info from my bike computer’s century ride

I could come up with plenty more statistics, too. I really hope everyone liked the mission, and they’re up for a second (or third!) round next year!    Check back later for photos, cue sheets (as requested!), links to the mapmyride maps, and leave a comment if you have anything to say about your experience!

~Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Raisin Hope in Philadelphia – Let’s promote safe cycling and support TBI research/recovery!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris B.  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Sorry I couldn’t make yesterday Doug.
    I had to move my soon-to-be brother-in-law and it took 5 hours longer than expected. (didn’t finish till 11:30pm)
    I needed to sleep in.

    I’ll catch it next year.

    -Chris…

    Reply
  • 2. Deb M.  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    First group ride. . . first road ride. . . and loved it. Yes, yes even on the hills. . . even the ones I said “you’ve got to be kidding!”. . . just showed me where I need to focus some training on (since I haven’t trained on hills at all!)
    An honor to ride with / for you Doug & to Support Raisin Hope Foundation.

    The encouragement, and patience from you and your friends made this a wonderful day / event!
    Thank you . . . and thank you to all on the ride.
    Deb M.
    (the older generation, rookie rider)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

