More News!

Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 10:34 pm Leave a comment

Hey-

So I figured it’s about time I let you guys know my other news that I have:

I am officially a recipient of the Drexel University Noyce Scholarship! I have been chosen to receive a scholarship that is given on behalf of the National Science Foundation, aimed at encouraging and helping future science, technology, engineering and math educators to teach in high-need urban districts. That being said, this Noyce Scholarship will require me to teach for two to four years in the School District of Philadelphia. I am really pleased to have been chosen so quickly and with such great recommendations from professors. I’m really honored. I know that I have earned it, but I’d be nowhere without great professors and mentors. I feel myself maturing as an educator so often lately!  This scholarship will fortunately bring me out of the “red zone” regarding finances for my college tuition for the year. And, even before I was officially given a ‘financial hold’ at Drexel! Sweet.

I’m preparing for robotics competitions each day when I help out at the school district offices. It’s pleasing when I get things done, and annoying as all heck when I find that long trails of paperwork make my work difficult. The school district of Phila is incredibly annoying when it comes to getting anything done. Don’t even get me started about their funds at the current time…

Classes have started for the Fall term- They appear to be do-able and simple. I am taking 3 classes on campus, and two online. The online classes appear hit-or-miss; we’ll see how things turn out. The one thing I shouldn’t expect to get much of during this term is sleep. We’ll see. I hope to at least make enough money to survive.

Okay, last thing: I mentioned how well I did when I ran the Philly Distance Run, in my last entry. I hope you agree that I did really well. Now, I really want to continue the success and compete in the Philadelphia marathon, which as already sold out. But, there is an optimistic chance: I can help raise money for ‘Students Run Philly Style’ (an awesome program encouraging philly students to become motivated to keep active and on task in school) which will allow me to compete this coming November! Of course, this is where I ask for your potential assistance: I can’t compete in the Philadelphia marathon without your assistance! Neither can future SRPS kids, either! I need to raise $1400 in order to be granted registration for the sold-out Philadelphia Marathon.  If I can have your help, you could help pave my way (a rough road!) toward being given the opportunity to race the “super bowl of marathons” the coming year, the Boston Marathon! I think I have the physical fitness and speed to qualify, and Philly’s the perfect place to do that. Help me make history! Please?

I hope to update you more on that very soon. If you think you’d like to help with this wonderful opportunity, please email me at westfalia529@gmail.com .  Thanks, everyone!

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Philly Distance Run Slowly reappearing…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

