Slowly reappearing…

Sunday, October 25, 2009 at 10:35 am 1 comment

Hey everybody!

It’s been a hectic last few weeks, and it will remain hectic for another 5 more. I always have it in the back of my mind to update Dougtales, but I also have at least five other things in the back of my mind as well. I can tell you this, considering how many things I’m juggling, it really seems as though I hardly have any residual problems as a result of my brain injury. Granted, I still get fatigued easily, but it always helps to eat sufficiently so that the chances of actually having energy are substantial.  yeah..  Anyways, enough said. I didn’t (and usually don’t) write posts with the intention of creating pity-parties!

It’s never a pity party. How can it be, when you are surrounded by people who encourage enthusiasm and optimism? Okay well sometimes I’m the one who’s beaming with optimism, but in this recent case, I definitely wasn’t the only one. Last Tuesday, I had the opportunity to meet Eva, a woman my mom does pastoral care for every now and then. Eva is 98 years old.  You’re probably thinking, “she’s incapable of doing anything, right?”. That’s what I thought, at least. Eva still has most of her wits and mental capacity still in great condition! And she even still walks around, too!

What really has me beaming about Eva is that she has been praying for me for the past three years, ever since the moment she heard about my accident. Every single time my Mom would visit her, she’d ask, “How is Doug doing?”. She had a soft spot as soon as she heard about me, because one of her sons had a traumatic brain injury as well. Sadly, he did not survive. Eva was very sad to talk about him, but was so happy to meet me. I know that my visiting her made her very happy, as she just wouldn’t stop hugging and kissing me!

The trick to living into your late nineties: drink one can of beer a day. That’s what Eva did (and still does!). Update: This only applies to those legally-allowed to drink.

Eva and I

Other news? I’ve been enveloping myself in high school science classes, robotics programs and teams, classes (both online and on campus), and the very-occasional bike ride or run…  It’s funny; in roughly a month I’m planning to do the O-marathon (an orienteering race that’s 26.2 miles) and yet I am hardly running at all right now. Oh, and I’m running it with Alison, who just yesterday won the US Orienteering Championships in F-20! Great job, Alison!

I’m loving riding my bike in the Fall weather. Shoot me a message and ask me to ride with you sometime!

Have a good one.

-Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More News! Game One!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  Sunday, October 25, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Doug:

    A BEAUTIFUL POST!!!

    Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,296 hits

