My last Fall term is over!

Saturday, December 12, 2009 at 12:58 pm 2 comments

Hey all-

After an outrageously-annoyingly-busy ‘finals’ week, my Fall term is finally over. I had thought, prior to the week, that I wouldn’t ever really feel like I had a finals week again. Wrong.. My finals may have been in electronic or craft form, but they all took a lot of time for me to do. Ugh.

The one true final exam I had (in two parts) was for Physical Geology. I might have told some of you how outrageous the lecture exam was: 23 pages long! To make matters worse, the final project for that class involved spending about 6 straight hours working with Google Earth, and then labelling/describing images. The saga for that class is not over until I receive my [less-than-approvable] grade…  Okay, my rant is over.

I can finally start thinking about everything else!  I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and ready to start my preparations for the next deadline (of many): Christmas. If you happen to have a Dremel Scroll Saw+Sander tool and know how to bring mine back to life, send me a message please. I’m excited to continue an awesome tradition.

I’ll be doing a longish run today (8 miles?). woohoo! I’m working on making 2009’s running log reach 500 miles (I’m at about 405 right now). And then tomorrow, I plan to do some mountain biking at the Wissahickon Valley Park. Maybe this ride won’t have random mechanical problems, too! I’ve been told that I need to step it up a notch; apparently I should have my bike land on me :more often:, not less. Expect a bruised Doug. Don’t worry, a happily bruised Doug.

I haven’t had time to work on mandolin songs. But then when I finish one, I plan to multitrack recordings, so that I can have some percussion and guitar to them. Yeah, that’s a goal that does not have a deadline.

Okay everyone, have a great season. Happy Holidays! I’ll update more soon. I’ve got time now, ish!

-Doug

Update (already!): I received A’s in two of my courses! This makes my GPA a 3.02! Still awaiting 3 more grades.

Another update:  I got a B in Physical Geology! This is the one class that I worried about getting a C for. If all goes well, my GPA could become a 3.11 now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dot dot dot Raisin Hope In Philadelphia 2010

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  Saturday, December 12, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Wow! Way to go Doug! You are coming down the home stretch now! Congratulations on the awesome grades. You’ve worked very hard! Hope you get some time now during break to get more runs in — you’ll make 500; and if Santa comes through you’ll have an even better log for your runs!

    Reply
  • 2. dougtales  |  Saturday, December 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    This afternoon’s run was a wild ride, truly. I set out to do 8 but I got competitive and gutsy so I kept running, all the way to the St. Joe’s boathouse and back. This meant that I did 11.11 miles, as mapmyrun.com calculated.

    The wild part of it was that I didn’t quite eat as much as I should have, prior to running. Maybe this is because I ended up running three more miles than I planned to? At my 9 (no joke), I started to ‘hit the wall’, bonk, run out of energy, whatever you call it. It was scary, because here I was running in 30-degree weather, wearing only a pair of running shorts and a long-sleeve under armor shirt, being forced to run slowly and then finally, walk… If I had ran, I’d have probably tripped and got injured, I was that out of energy.. So I had to walk and lose body heat and be cold for 2 miles from the Art Museum, without money to buy food to replenish my energy.

    I spent those 2 miles carefully walking home, planning :exactly: how I’d walk into my house and eat some snack food to make my body stop shaking. Oh what an adventure. Good run, to the tune of lots of Bill Monroe songs on my iPod.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,335 hits

