A Summer Reminder: Wear a helmet!

Monday, July 19, 2010 at 10:56 pm Leave a comment

Hey everybody,

No, this isn’t me… And I’m not entirely sure that this wasn’t photoshopped or anything. But regardless, I’d hope that none of you ever have to get a head x-ray, cat scan, MRI, whatever.  Lately I’ve had numerous students ask me about my trach scar, and I happily explain to them my story. Hopefully they’ll wear their helmets when they ride their bikes like I do!

I’ve noticed a bunch of people who think that they’re wearing bike helmets while riding lately. What do I mean? If you wear a helmet incorrectly, you might as well not wear it at all. This means: ALWAYS TIGHTEN AND FASTEN THE STRAP ON YOUR HELMET.  –  ALWAYS MAKE SURE YOUR HELMET IS SNUG ON YOUR FOREHEAD.

Send me a message and I’ll tell you how I cracked my recently-purchased, $70 commuter bike helmet. Don’t worry, I didn’t hurt myself even one little bit… There’s certainly a funny story to go along with it though!  I could have kept wearing it, but no… If you see any cracks in the styrofoam, that’s when you need to replace your helmet!  Even if you’re just riding for a 5-minute period, you should still wear a helmet!  Cars are much more massive than bicyclists – use the laws of physics to justify a new helmet purchase,  friends!

Alright, thanks for reading my public service announcement. Next week, we’ll tell you how to effectively (and safely!) skin a tiger!

Have a safe day,

Doug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bike Philly 2010! 2010 Christmas Ornament!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,322 hits

