Raisin Hope in Philly Ride: Update

Sunday, May 15, 2011 at 5:48 pm Leave a comment

[Updated 5/20/11] :

I previously wrote that the event was cancelled- and that confused a lot of people. The ride is absolutely not cancelled. As a matter of fact, I’m finding that there :will: be plenty of people coming and riding to help support the Raisin Hope Foundation! The extent that I can plan and arrange volunteers to run rest stops is, however, still questionable. Please email me (dougtrails2011 @ gmail . com) or comment on this post to tell me that you can volunteer to run a rest stop or two! 

Why have I been busy and not planning the Raisin Hope in Philadelphia 2011 ride? You may have been alerted that in the summer of 2011 (beginning June 27 in San Francisco) I will be riding my bicycle across the continental United States and raising awareness and inspiration for those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries. I will be speaking and visiting rehabilitation hospitals, support groups, and individuals who are in recovery from this devastating condition, hoping to show them that the can recover and return to everyday life… It won’t be easy. That goes for both recovery and riding 3000+ miles on a touring bicycle.   Part of the money I raise from fundraising for the journey and while I’m on the road will be given to the Raisin Hope Foundation.  By no means am I forgetting a big part of my mission!  Visit the tour’s website for the complete story and to see video. 

The ride slated to take place on May 29, 2011 (Sunday of Memorial Day weekend) will not be as well planned or supported as I’d have preferred. BUT, I’m still riding as much as 60 miles that day, and invite you to join me. If you would like to still donate to the Raisin Hope Foundation, please come and do so! I am aware that many of you have plans for the weekend, and urge you to do what you think is best and follows your interests most. If you plan to come, send an email to dougtrails.wordpress.com and let me know so that I can be prepared to see you on May 29.

Doug Markgraf

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Raisin Hope in Philadelphia Ride 2011! Almost time to start Raisin’ Hope in Philly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Doug

Doug!

Dougtales’ Tweets

Recent Comments

Carla on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Bob E Ruddy on 2012 Christmas Ornaments
Daniel Markgraf on 2011 Christmas/Holidays Orname…
Kathy Kirlin on 2010 Christmas Ornament!
Rick Poleshuck on Almost time to start Raisin…
May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 65,302 hits

